Pear and Pomegranate Salad

At the beginning of November, I went to the Holiday Happenings at our local university extension office. There was three days of watching these people make lovely dishes to fix for the holidays. On the last day, a local celebrity introduced some of her favorite salads. The celebrity was Chef Jessica Bright. I spoke to her for about 1 minute afterwards. She is now my BFF, even if she doesn’t know who I am.   I am her BFF too.

The first thing that she taught us was how to cut Romaine Lettuce. Do not cut off the ends. Wash it very well between layers and drain well.

Then cut off the tip, if it is dried up or brown.

Photobucket

Next hold the lettuce at the end and slice from end to tip on one side. Turn the lettuce over half way and slice from end to tip again.

Photobucket

Then slice the lettuce sideways, so that you will have nice even slices of lettuce. Cut towards the end piece.

Photobucket

Once the lettuce is cut up, spin it dry if necessary.

Photobucket

Now it is time to make this beautiful salad.

Photobucket

Isn’t it pretty?

Pear and Pomegranate Salad
Chef Jessica Bright

4 cups lettuce of your choice (I like romaine)
2 fresh, ripe pears
1 cup lemon lime soda  *I hope to find this at a health store, without Fructose Corn Syrup
1 pomegranate    (I bought a large one, most of it was gone before the salad was made)
½ cup mayonnaise (I used fat free)
1 tsp honey
2 TBSP rice vinegar
1/2 cup toasted pecan halves  (I didn’t have any, so I used walnuts)
½ cup sharp cheddar, grated

Carefully cut the blossom end from the pomegranate, score the skin into quarters, and place the pomegranate in a large bowl of cool water. Gently pull apart the pomegranate the seeds and pulp will sink and the skin and pith will float. Reserve the seeds and pulp, discard everything else.
On platter layer the lettuce. Peel pears, core, and slice thinly then dip in bowl of lemon lime soda (to prevent browning). Place slices on lettuce. Reserve ¼ cup of the lemon lime soda you dipped the pears in. Whisk together mayonnaise, lemon lime soda, honey, and rice vinegar. Drizzle this over the pears
and lettuce then sprinkle platter with the grated cheddar, toasted pecan halves, and then the pomegranate seeds.

Oooh this is so good!  I am making it to take to our Co-op Christmas party. 🙂

7 responses to “Pear and Pomegranate Salad

  1. Thanks for showing me how to cut Romaine! That is our lettuce of choice but my family complains that the pieces are always too big. I’m going to try this method and see if it’s better! The salad looks yummy too. I may try that for Christmas Eve.

    MNKristys last blog post..Christmas Card Giveaway

  2. It’s beautiful! I would have used walnuts, too, even though I have some pecans in the freezer.

    I have the same salad spinner….wish I had those countertops. Lovely!

    Sheris last blog post..Week of Thankfulness – Tuesday

  3. That is a lovely salad!

    Melanies last blog post..Tissue Paper Flowers

  4. I had to come back and tell you that I have been cutting my lettuce this way and I love it! What nice, bite-size pieces. Why didn’t I learn this trick about 20 years ago!

  5. Pingback: Our Christmas Recap « Kristy’s Corner

  6. Okay, I’m back to this post one more time to tell you that we had this salad on Christmas Eve and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing this yummy, colorful, festive salad. We all enjoyed it. Thanks!

    MNKristys last blog post..Our Christmas Recap

Leave a Reply

