Christmas Ornaments

Melanie at Four Squares is wanting to know what kind of ornaments our children make.  This got me to thinking about what they did, so thought I would share some photos.

When my son was in Preschool, they made snowmen ornaments.  The snowmen were made from cut out foam sheets.  The black hat is painted on with black glitter paint and the eyes and nose were placed on by the young boy.  As you can see, he did a wonderful job.  I did one for his sister, it is on the right.

Photobucket

The second (or was it the first) year of preschool my son made these little Nativity scenes. I liked them so much, that I had a few more made by my other children. This year we need to make a few more. I have apparently lost the others and our dog just ate this one. This picture was taken just yesterday before it became a snack.

Photobucket

My oldest daughter likes to draw and she likes to see herself on the tree…I think. Actually, I don’t know what she was thinking when she made this one. It is probably three years old.

Photobucket

One year I wanted the kids to paint their ornaments. I can’t remember how I got that snowman on the ornament, but the kids were to paint the area around the snowman like it was snow. This was the best one, because you can see the snowman. The others were just a blizzard and they broke last year. Lots of ornaments broke last year.

Photobucket

The one below is blurry, but you get the idea. These are my favorite ones and the sad thing is, I can’t find them. This was during a year that my second daugther was having a felt fettish. Everything was made from felt and since she couldn’t sew and I wouldn’t do it for her, she stapled her creations together. She only stapled her fingers once. This ornament comes in two pieces, the snowman and the stocking.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I love these ornaments and I hope to keep them away from the dogs and children.  They are getting harder to find. 😦

What have you done for ornaments?

8 responses to “Christmas Ornaments

  1. Sweet pics, Applie. I’ll share our kidmades when we get our tree up this year. 🙂

    Sheris last blog post..Watch therefore

  2. Thanks for the good idea for a post. I’ll have to share some of mine soon. I gave Melanie several of our ideas too but I didn’t think of posting about it.

    MNKristys last blog post..Getting To Know You – Christmas Edition.

  3. Those are so cute! I love the staples! LOL

    Melanies last blog post..More Randomness

  4. What sweet gifts! I will try to remember to share ours when I get it all out.

    Kaths last blog post..Winding Down….

  5. The ornaments my girls have made through the years are my favorites. Especially the ones where they made the ornament and added a pic of them. Like a felt snowman shape-but the face is theirs. So cute to see how they’ve changed through the years.

  6. Awwwe<3 I love the ornaments 😀

    We are going to make some beaded candy cane ornaments and some other stuff this year 🙂

    Heathers last blog post..Wordless Wednesday 12-3

  7. Pingback: Christmas Ornaments « Kristy’s Corner

Leave a Reply

