Beer Fish

Photobucket

I started this project back in August.  I was hoping to finish Christmas presents early, but it didn’t happen.  I got the bodies finished quickly; it was just the rest of it that took a long time.  I was working on these during the day, because the girls couldn’t figure out what I was doing, then I had to switch to night time crochet and that wasn’t so easy, since I wanted to sleep instead of crochet. 😀    I also had to make several of the fins and eyeballs, for each fish, because the dogs ate them or I lost them.

fish bags

Once I had to wash the whole set;  yarn, body, eyeballs, fins, everything. I was happily crocheting along.  The whole bag of goodies were on the floor at an easy reach.  I needed that because of changing the colors a lot.  Anyhoo, I reached over to the table to get something, probably the needle, and I hit my glass of beer.  Yep, the whole glass of beer landed upside down in the bag.  These fishy things are now known as Beer Fish.   FYI, no I wasn’t drunk, but the fish ended up being a little wobbly.
Orange fish

The pattern is Fish Bag by Margorie Crochets

I used Red Heart Yarn in black, white, red, green, and orange.

They are now in a box that is three boxes taped together.

Photobucket

And they are under the tree. WooHoo!!

Photobucket

Now on to the rest of my Christmas crocheting frenzie.

13 responses to “Beer Fish

  1. Oh my gosh! Those are adorable! You and Melanie have inspired me to want to do something with yarn. So I have signed up for a loom knitting class in January. I thought about a knitting class but it was too many weeks long and I wasn’t willing to commit that many nights. But the loom class is just two nights long.

    MNKristys last blog post..A Challenge #2

  2. They turned out so cute!! What a great idea to wrap them all together like that! It is hard to crochet without the kids seeing you. Mine already saw the Hello Kitty purses:p I still have to line them. I may make one into a pillow instead?
    Who knows the beer thing may catch on as some new felting method.
    I don’t know maybe friends don’t let friends drink and crochet.
    Okay I’m done:)
    Your tree looks so pretty.

  3. Oh yes! The Beer Fish in all their finished glory! They turned out great, Applie. I feel sorry for them stuffed into those little boxes. That is going to be so funny, when the girls open those and see those big fishy eyes!

    Sheris last blog post..My favorite gelatinous goo

  4. They’re so cute! I really like them.

    I believe you when you say you weren’t drunk. Yep, I do. 😉 I know I wrote something about knitting under the influence once upon a time. LOL

    Melanies last blog post..Snowy Day

  5. Oh, they look wonderful (even if they are a bit drunk – LOL)! You are so sneaky making them look like one big present. Love it!

    Gigis last blog post..Messing Around

  6. Your girlies are going to LOVE them!! How adorable. 😀

    I hope you are doing well, hugs, Robin

    Robins last blog post..I’ve Been Away

  7. Those are sooo cute.

    Jessicas last blog post..A huge blogging break…

  8. I love those! They are so cute. I am going to forward this to my mom with some serious hints. 🙂

    Tressas last blog post..Late start

  9. clown fish are the best, too cute. at least the beer didn’t get your keyboard!

    peggyanns last blog post..4 Quilts–It’s a God thing.

  10. Can you post the pattern to make these?

Leave a Reply

