Learning Tunisian Crochet

Today I get to take my very first crochet class.  I have never taken a crochet class before,.  I have learned everything except chain stitch and single crochet on my own.  So, this is going to be exciting for me. 

I will be heading to my new BFF local yarn shop, The Local Needle at 9:00am.  Why is it my BFF yarn shop?  I’ll tell you.

  • They have several crochet projects hanging around the shop.
  • They have several crochet pattern books.
  • They have someone there who will teach a crocheting class just for the sake of crochet, and not for “you’ll need to learn crochet, to place trims on your knitting.”
  • They don’t mind if you crochet at their knitting night.  Some shops won’t allow me to crochet during their knitting nights and they don’t have crocheting nights.  This is a biggie for me.
  • And the number one reason is:  The owner, Joan, is awesome to work with.  She is easy to talk to.  She gives good advice.  Her mail order side of the business is superb!  And she doesn’t say anything about my endless dribble in emails.  😀

Back to the purpose of this post.  I will be learning to make a Tunisian Shawl.  I don’t have a picture of  it or a pattern page.  This is a personal pattern of the teacher.  Anyhoo, part of the requirements for taking this class was that I needed to know the basic Tunisian Crochet stitch.  So…. I have been practicing.

Here is my very first project in Tunisian. It is a washcloth.  The center is off, because well,  I messed up.  It still works well at washing dishes.  🙂

Photobucket

I had to watch this YouTube clip to start the process of Tunisian. Once I could see where to put the hook, I didn’t have any problems.

I was thinking that the simple stitch, used to make the washcloth, was not enough for me to know. So I got out my very old The Complete Encyclopedia of Stitchery book, dated 1979 and looked up new stitches. I used a very ugly orange colored yarn, to practice my stitching.

This first picture is of the test swatch curling. Tunisian projects like to curl…a lot. If this was an actual project, I’d have to block it well.

Photobucket

This next picture is of the whole test piece. The first section, down at the bottom is the basic Tunisian stitch, aka Afghan Stitch. The next section up, is the Knitted Stitch. It uses up a lot of yarn, but looks just like knitting on the front side. Hmmm, I wonder if I can do that at the knitting nights.
Photobucket

After the knitted stitch, I did a few rows of the simple stitch again. Then I tried the Cluster Stitch. I didn’t have enough stitches on the hook to begin with, so the right side is off. Don’t ask me what I did, because I don’t know. 😀 Just look at the lovely cluster stitches on the left side.

Once I was done with the clusters I went back to the simple stitch and then to the Crossed Tunisian Stitch. You can’t see the difference, but there is some. I know I didn’t do something right with that section. I’ll have to practice more.

Well, that’s all I have for now. I’ll be posting about my Tunisian Shawl another day, when I have some of it done. 🙂

13 responses to “Learning Tunisian Crochet

  1. If you want the look of knitting, just knit.

    I didn’t say I wanted to look at knitting. LOL At this time in my life knitting hates me.

    It uses waaaaaaay less yarn than crocheting too.

  2. Knitting hates you because you like red.

    Plain and simple.

  3. I love tunisian crochet. I wish I was closer and could go with you. Your swatch is so cool. I haven’t seen the knitting stitch before.
    CC I have tried knitting and so far it is too frustrating:( My work slides off my needles, it takes forever with my fumbling. I want to relax when I have time with yarn and knitting drives me crazy. I love how it looks though and this stitch gets me pretty close:)

  4. Nice! I haven’t learned Tunisian, but I will someday. Have fun at your class!

    P.S. Knitting is better. 😀

  5. I check in here every so often. Thanks for the crochet tips. I was excited to see a crochet post. 🙂
    I have at this point mastered the Granny Square…well, “mastered” may be a bit of an exaggeration…
    I have made a Granny Square 🙂 and it is indeed square!!!! yeah!
    Thanks for the help.

    P.S.
    (Sorry to the really nice knitters out there! I’m sure most knitters are lovely.)
    Why are the yarn shops so snobby about crochet??? I don’t get it.

  6. I’m so excited to see you learning Tunisian crochet. It’s a lot of fun and I love doing it. You can find that same dishcloth pattern on Ravelry. It’s called the Tunisian Shortrow dishcloth. I have made dozens of them and they are my favorite. There is also a fun mitered dishcloth pattern on Ravelry that is fun to do in Tunisian.

  7. I watched the video that you posted and can see why the work would curl. Your sample looks nice. Did you have fun at the class? =)

    Yes, I had a great time. I am going to blog about it in a day or two.

  8. Applie,
    I am greatly impressed that you learned Tunisian on your own!! I had to be taught a couple of different times and I actually had to sit next to my cousin to make sure I did it correctly! Very few stitches have I learned just be watching a video or reading a book.

    And you even tried, and succeeded I might add, different stitches within Tunisian!! Great job and keep up the great work.

    A knitting friend of mine loves crochet because of the versatility of the stitches, there is no end to what you can do. I look forward to reading your entry on this evenings class.

  9. I love the Afghan stitch, its my favorite. But I did’nt know it was called Tunisian. My grandmother did a whole afghan in afghan stitch.

    Last week I made a copy out of a magazine to see how it is done, I couldn’t remember and I wanted to get my mom started on some covered hangers. She says she has several done and needs more hangers.

    Hmmmm, I wonder if my grammy had a special hook and just where is it?

    Your mom did the covered hangers in Afghan Stitch? That sounds pretty. Yes, Afghan Stitch and Tunisian Simple Stitch are the same. I like doing this stitch. 🙂 Maybe I’ll make some hanger covers. I’ll email you for instructions. 😀

  10. thats a very pretty orange!!!
    Reading that makes me want to go crochet, you make very pretty stuff 😀

    Thank you. 🙂

  11. Hey, Michelle! I am looking for that post of your daughter in handcuffs in the office chair. That’s why I’m digging this deep.

    Just wanted to say that the Tunisan method is the how my earflap hats are started! They look the same. I had no idea I was doing anything remotely Tunisian. Good to know. 😀

    Love, Wardeh

Leave a Reply

