Alpacas

Last Saturday we took the family to see the Florida Alpaca Breeders Assoc. Expo.  We even dragged along two extra people just for the fun of it.  I have never seen an Alpaca in real life, and I have never used yarn made from Alpaca fur, so thought this would be a lot of fun.

It was a small Expo., but then I have never been to one before.  Who knows, this could have been huge.

We saw some brown ones and white ones.

Photobucket

Some are very fluffy like cotton balls.

Photobucket

Some have stringy-locks and can’t see.

Photobucket

Some of them were in cages waiting to be judged. I don’t know what the judges look for, but I saw lots of nice big ribbons. These Alpacas let the girls touch them a little bit.

Photobucket

Alpaca butts everywhere! These were actually my favorite; the brown teddy bear looking ones. LOL

Photobucket

We kept walking around wondering what the owners did with the fur to make some with stringy-locks and others fuzzy. The owners were too busy with the showing to answer any questions, so we didn’t get to know until we got home. Turns out there are two different kinds of Alpacas. Learn something new everyday! We also read that Alpaca yarn compares equally to cashmere.

They also had some activities for younger people. We got there just in time and didn’t have to wait in line for anything. They had pin the tail on the Alpaca, make a bracelet, and a coloring contest.

Photobucket

Three out of eight of us really enjoyed the show. We plan on going back again next year by ourselves and stick around long enough to speak to some owners. 🙂  The three of us wanted to take a few Alpacas home, but Sir Husband wouldn’t let us.

7 responses to “Alpacas

  1. Sounds like lots of fun to me.

  2. I knew you were only scouting out your next pet. Way to exhibit self control this time. They are cute, I guess.

  3. There are several Alpaca farms around here-I always enjoying seeing them.

  4. We visited an alpaca farm last year and loved it! We were all surprised that the alpacas didn’t have an odor. We put our faces right into their coats and they only smelled a little dusty. The farmer gave me a bag of alpaca wool to take home to spin, but I never did figure that out.

    I keep trying to convince my dad that he’d rather raise alpacas than cows, but he won’t listen to me.

  5. Didn’t they sell yarn??? How cool would that have been if you could buy yarn there. You are too funny trying to take one home. I could just imagine the puppies and the alpaca fighing for space on the couch.

    Some of the vendors had yarn, but it was expensive. The prices were no different than in a store, so I’d rather support my LYS.

  6. We have people up here who raise Alpcas and Llamas and the wool/hair is usually spun into threads and yarns (more yarn than thread). I have met a few ladies who raise them just so they have great yarns to knit with, a few also crochet and weave with them as well.

    I’d love to get my hands on some of the yarns from these as well as musk ox but the price – can you say sticker shock!!!

  7. Aww, they’re so cute! I want some!

    Your girlies & friends are cute, too. 😉

Leave a Reply

