Aebbie whaaattt????

Aebleskiver  that’s what. 😀

In July of 2008, while on vacation, we stopped at our favorite cast iron shop.  One of the things I purchased was a Aebleskiver pan.  I tried this pan one time and it just didn’t work.  All that came out of it was a big glob of goo.  Now who would want to eat that? 

After seven months and out of bordom, I got the pan back out and gave it another try.  Recipe follows.

After I made the pancake batter, I let it sit while the pan heated up.  The recipe calls for 1 TB of butter in each round, but I did not use that much. Pour some batter into each round almost to the top and let it cook.

Photobucket

After a minute our two, use a wooden bamboo skewer and turn the batter 1/4 of the way around. Since this was my very first batch and I didn’t know what I was doing, I didn’t let it cook long enough. The batter is suppose to bubble up around the sides before turning. Notice it isn’t a nice golden brown.

Photobucket

Let the batter cook for one minute (I let mine cook a little longer) and then make another 1/4 turn, letting each turn cook for a minute.   Here is a nice video of how to make the Aebleskivers.  He makes his from a mix.  I never buy mixes.  😀

This next picture is of my second batch. I did a much better job with this one. I also added a few chocolate chips to the center, before turning the first time.

Photobucket

This one batch made 21 pancake balls.  The girls ate them up quickly. I am sure I’ll be making more of these, especially during the day when they need a nice treat for a snack.  Of course, these are not that healthy, so they won’t get them too  often. 🙂

Next time I try this, I’ll use all whole wheat flour.

Danish Aebleskiver
Source:  Somewhere on the web, then tweaked by me.
Makes about 21 round pancakes
 
  • 1 Aebleskiver pan
  • 2 cups of fresh ground soft wheat flour  (or unbleached flour or half and half)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 TB sugar
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • butter
  • powdered sugar (optional)
  • chocolate chips (a must in this house)
  • chopped apples (optional)
 
Mix together the flour, baking powder,baking soda, salt, sugar, and cinnamon.  Set aside.
 
Mix together the buttermilk, egg yokes, and vanilla.  Set aside.
 
Beat egg whites until stiff.
 
Mix the buttermilk mixture in flour mixture.  Then fold in egg whites.  Set aside, and heat up the Aebleskiver pan on medium heat.
 
Place a slab (1/2T) of butter (real butter) in each round.  Add enough batter to almost come to the top of the round.  When the batter starts to bubble up on the sides, turn the batter 1/4 of the way around.  (I use a wooden skewer to turn the batter)   Cook each turn for about one minute.  The cooking time varies.  The first batch always takes longer then the rest.
Most times I can get two batches done before adding more butter to the rounds.
 
If you want to add chocolate chips or apples, place then in the round just before the first 1/4 turn.   I add 4 to 6 chips in each round.
 
Serve warm, sprinkle with powdered sugar.
 
These freeze well.
 
Enjoy.
15 responses to “Aebbie whaaattt????

  1. I got one of these for Christmas but haven’t tried it yet. Looks yummy. With it just being hubby and I, it hasn’t seemed worth the time to make them — would make too many and you know what happens then — yup, we eat them all! So will have to give them a try when we have family here.

  2. Yummy, sort of like fritters.

    Exactly! 😀

  3. So they are just made from pancake batter? Sounds like something that my family would love to try. That is something to be thinking about.

    I don’t know if it was something I did or not, but when I used our regular pancake batter, it didn’t work.

  4. You’re making me hungry. Yum!

  5. Mmmmmmm. What time should I be there to sample these yummies? They sound amazing!

    lol Any time!

  6. hey I have a cast iron Aebleskiver pan we bought one year in Solvang a little Dainish tourist town here in Calif along the coastal area.. have i used it no.. lol have I ever tasted some yes in Solvang
    They serve them at some of the bakeries there with a thick fruit like sauce .. It is interesting to watch them make them and taste great right off the pans fresh… Shame on me will have to get my pan out soon!!

  7. yummy looking, did they taste yummy or did the girls and boy eat them before you could get a taste?

    I had two. That’s all I could eat. The girls ate most of them. The boy refused to eat them. He could not understand why you’d make ball pancakes.

  8. Yumm! Now aren’t you glad you got bored and pulled that pan out again? I don’t have one. But maybe I could use my cornbread skillet pan to make some wedge-shaped pancake puffs? I might get bored and try it. 😉

    Love, wardeh

    LOL Yes, get bored and give it a try. LOL My girls asked me to make some more late last night. I didn’t; I wasn’t bored. 😀

  9. I’ve never seen one of these! Anything that resemble something breadlike is sure to be enjoyed by me! They look yummy!

  10. Hmm, these remind me of my Olliebollen… interesting. Can’t say I’d make them myself, lol. But interesting… I know my peeps would love them too.

  11. Those look really good!!! Cooked in butter……… Sprinkled with powdered sugar……..

    I think I just gained a few pounds thinking about it!!

  12. I need one of those for my cod fish cakes.

    That sounds pretty good. 🙂

  13. I found your blog on the Blindpigandtheacorn blog. My husband is from Denmark and has been longing for aebleskiver, he even brought the pan with him when he immigrated. Thanks so much for posting a recipe. I’ll make these for him this weekend as a surprise. (I live in NC now but grew up in Florida. the only thing I miss is Publix)

    • Hi Jackie,
      Thank you for visiting my blog. My girls have been asking for another batch, so I need to get that skillet out again. I tried to comment on your blog, but I have to be logged in and it wasn’t working. Love your little dolls.

Leave a Reply

