Palatka Ravines

This past Saturday, the family and I celebrated my 29th birthday (again).   My birthday was actually on the 16th, but we waited a week to celebrate.  One of  the places I wanted to visit was the Palatka Ravines.  Each year about this time the Azaleas are blooming.  Each year about this time, we forget they are blooming and don’t go.  This year we remembered. 🙂   However; I think we were a week or two early.   Not all of the Azaleas were in bloom.

Photobucket

There were some flowers there and they were very pretty, but not the exploding blooms I had expected.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In 1933 the ravine was transformed into a dramatic garden by the federal Works Progress Administration. A lot of the original stonework is still there.

Photobucket

It is a beautiful park and we go at least twice a year. This trip was really special because Sir Husband let me lag behind and take pictures. He never once hollered back at me to hurry up.

Photobucket

If he got ahead with the children, they just sat and waited for me to catch up. 🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

I got to take time to play around with the camera and take pictures of things I don’t always have time to take.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Even though the temp. for the day started out at 38 degrees, it warmed up to a warm low 60’s and turned out just beautiful. I really enjoyed this day. Once back home, we dropped the girls off to the grandparents and went out to a nice seafood resturant. I couldn’t have asked for a better 29th birthday. 🙂

9 responses to “Palatka Ravines

  1. LOL! Yeah right. Whatever.

    Oh, excuse me…that was rude. I don’t mean to scoff. Of course I believe that you are 29. Happy Birthday. Glad your day was great.

    Nice photos 🙂

    Now, don’t get rude. I can’t help it if I’m still 29 again. lol

  2. Lovely pictures, Michelle. I’m glad you had such a special 29th birthday!

    Interesting about the WPA.

    I thought the WPA was interesting too. I was going to do some more research, but didn’t get around to it. The whole place stones around it, not just in that one area.

  3. 29?

    bwahahahahaha!

    Glad to see that you led off with pink flowers.

  4. Sounds like a lovely day. I’m glad hubby let you linger the pictures are beautiful.

  5. Looks like a very nice hike, well except for the tick one of your girls got – you really should move to Alaska that wouldn’t happen here.

  6. 29? Again? Ha! I am finally older than you. LOL The pictures are beautiful – I’m glad you had time to play. On our walks, The Man and his Goobers just take off and leave me, and I walk alone. Hey, I think that’s a Green Day song.

  7. What a lovely way to spend the day of your 29th again birthday!

  8. The Ravine Gardens are very beautiful. I have lived in Palatka just about all my life. I now live in Hollister, about 15-20 minutes away. I like your blog. Can you tell me where ya’ll live?

    Thank you for visiting my blog. We live an hour away from the ravines. 🙂

  9. That place looks nice! It makes me wish for warmer weather. I love the stonework and azaleas. Happy Birthday. =)

Leave a Reply

