A Muffin

Ever since I started grinding our own wheat, 8 years ago, I have been searching for the perfect Muffin recipe.  Mine are always a little rubbery, a little dense, and short.  Not the light, fluffy, enormous muffins I am use to seeing on everyone elses blog.

Yesterday while reading The Happy Housewife’s blog, I notice a photo of a  beautiful light, fluffy, enormous muffin.  I’m thinking, ooo if someone with six children and one on the way, can bake a muffin like this, then so can I.   

The recipe is a plain Muffin with brown sugar and cinnamon on top.  😛

Photobucket

I mix the dry ingredients.  I add a 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the dry stuff.  We like cinnamon. 🙂

I add the liquids carefully to the dry ingredients and add the mixture to the muffin tins.  I do not use liners.  I got tired of half of the muffins coming off with the liners.  I do hate cleaning the muffins tins after baking, but I hate muffins stuck to liners more.  😀

 Photobucket

This recipe made 9 muffins for me and they took roughly 15 minutes to bake.

Here is the best looking one out of the bunch.

 Photobucket

It is not the beautiful, fluffy, light, enormous muffin that The Happy Housewife made.   The girls ate the muffins and thought they were good; however, they would rather have chocolate chips in there too.

I have to come to the conclusion that making muffins ranks up there with pie crusts and birthday cakes.  I just can’t do it. 😦    Since my girls don’t know the difference between a good muffin and a bad muffin, I’ll continue to make muffins. Pie Crusts and Birthday cakes (from scratch) well… store bought is just fine with me.  :mrgreen:

9 responses to “A Muffin

  1. Did you barely mix the muffins?

    Some things don’t work well with whole wheat flour.

    Yes, I barely mixed the flour. I used soft wheat. 🙂

  2. Hmmm, I wonder why they didn’t rise as much. We put chocolate chips in our muffins a lot. Actually the kids like chocolate chips in everything!
    Toni

  3. They look good to me. I love the Happy Housewife…I’m glad that you found her blog as well. I haven’t resorted to grinding my own wheat yet and baking from scratch, but it’s on my list of changes to make to our diet.

    I found her through your site. 🙂

  4. hmmm cc said my exact comment, but I see you’ve addressed that. How about…cringe…useing half white flour??

  5. I think they look really good. Could it be you’re not taking into account an altitude difference?

    Since we are sea level, I don’t think altitude is a problem. I think it is me. 🙂

  6. They look yummy to me.
    They are normal muffins;)

  7. That looks like a muffin to me. Good job! Now you’ve got me wanting muffins – I think I’ll make blueberry muffins tomorrow for breakfast. I’ll let you know how fluffy they are; it never occurred to me to worry about the fluffiness of my muffins, but now, thanks to you, I have something else to feel insecure about. LOL

    I had to make you feel that way, because you have perfect kids and I don’t. 😀

  8. Well, my blueberry muffins weren’t any fluffier than yours. I’m an abject failure and don’t know how I’m going live with myself. My gluttonous – I mean, perfect – kids descended on them like locusts so at least I won’t have to look at non-fluffy muffins all day.

    My non-perfect girls wouldn’t know a fluffy muffin if it hit them on the bellybutton. Sounds like your perfect kids are the same. That means we’re not really failures and we can keep making the non-fluffy muffins. 😀

  9. One thing I am wondering about is humidity. I know that some baked good are really affected by the amount of moisture in the air.

    I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

