A Yummy Snack

Some of you know my son has a few food allergies.  Nothing that can’t be handled with good planning and careful reading of labels. 🙂  Because if his allergies, I am always on the look out for good snacks that just might fill him up some between meals. 

I decided to try out a  Chex Party Mix, without peanuts.  I took a few days to search for the right recipe.  I wanted something sort of spicy, but not hot.  I found the perfect recipe at The Confessions of a Pioneer Woman

I did make a few changes, but not much. One was leaving out the peanuts.  I doubled the recipe and added extra fresh garlic.  The extra garlic was a mistake.  The recipe calls for 2 to 4 cloves and I lost count when I doubled and ended up using a whole garlic bulb.  Thankfully it was a small bulb.

 Photobucket

I didn’t have any Tabasico sauce so I used Hot Sauce.  Once again I lost count with the amount of drops I put in.  oops.   I also added some salt, since salted peanuts were not added.

Then I placed the whole thing into the dehydrator at 118 and let it go over night. It is hot here, so I didn’t want the oven on for so long. Sorry for the blurry picture. I tried to get another shot, but the air of the dehydrator was blowing in my eyes. All the hot sauce started burning my eyes, making them water. ooops.

Photobucket

The mix was ready the next morning and it turned out great. We are going on a hiking trip today, and this will be just the right snack to take with us.

Verdict:
Mom and Dad: oooo yum…
Sir Son: It has an awful after taste.
Girls: Got into trouble because they can’t keep their hands out of it.

Photobucket

Changes: I’ll add peanuts next time since Sir Son stuck his nose up at it. 🙂

5 responses to “A Yummy Snack

  1. You dehydrator thing sounds cool. Sounds like it was Sir Son’s loss.

  2. Kids!

    Some days there is just no pleasing them at all.

  3. That looks great! I am still trying to convince The Man that I need a dehydrator – he’s still putting me off and it’s been how many years now? 😛 I don’t put peanuts in my Chex mix, either. I’m not allergic; I just think they are gross. 😀

  4. Yum! I think you can make this in the oven at a low heat? I don’t have a dehydrator either but I can’t wait to try this.

  5. My Mom-n-law used to make this all the time-especially at Christmas-and I loved it! I may have to give it a try too.

Leave a Reply

