Corn Bread or Cone Bread?

A few years ago, my homeschool peeps and I, started talking about the difference between Corn Bread and Cone Bread.  It turns out that Corn Bread is made from a box and Cone Bread is made from scratch.   If you want Corn Bread, you can make one in a jiffy. If you want Cone Bread, you can still make one in a jiffy, but it doesn’t taste like it.  😀

Did you know:

Corn is actually a gluten-free grain. High in Magnesium and also has thiamin, niacin, riboflavin, essential fatty acids, magnesium, calcium, sodium, protein, carbohydrates, potassium, iron, zinc, Vitamin A, B & C, phosphorus and fiber. Corn is not concidered “whole food” because it lacks lysine and tryptophan.

You can either buy cornmeal or grind it.  I grind mine in the WhisperMill.  Since the corn is huge and very hard, it makes the machine sound awful.  It is a good slave, so it carries on.

Photobucket

Once it is ground, the flour is really fine and a very pretty yellow.

Photobucket

Next take all the yummy goodness called for in the recipe (below) and mix them together. Don’t over mix. 

Photobucket

Pour it all into a small 6 to 8 inch pan. I use my small 6″ stone pan.  Let this rest while the oven heats up to 350.  I bake mine in my toaster oven. It was so wonderful not to have to heat up the house with the huge oven.  A bonus for FL people.

Photobucket

This is how it turned out. Nicely browned and oh so good, except I don’t care for corn cone bread. I have several family members who do. 😀

Photobucket

As you can tell I make Cone Bread. A very good friend of mine, I won’t mention her name, makes Corn Bread. 

Cone Bread
Source: Sue Gregg

1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
3 TB honey
2 TB olive oil
2 TB melted butter
2 cups fresh milled cornmeal
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Mix dry ingredients. Mix liquid ingredients and then mix with the dry. Pour into a well greased 6 to 8 inch pan.

Bake at 350, for 25 to 35 minutes.

Serve with butter and honey.

8 responses to “Corn Bread or Cone Bread?

  1. Not only does she make corn bread, but I have heard that she likes her corn bread sweet…’cause she’s from the North.

  2. Well, I make from scratch but I don’t grind my own corn. So maybe I make corne bread . LOL

  3. There is no way I’m going to call my homemade cornbread anything but cornbread. 😛

    We don’t call ours cone bread either. 🙂 It is corn bread. LOL

  4. I’m a northern girl myself, the farthest south I’ve ever lived was Arizona and they aren’t south they are west!!

    I have made mine from scratch using corn meal – no grinding here (well not yet anyway you never know what the future holds) – and I like mine sweet. The only way I would call mine cone bread would be if I made it in the shape of a cone.

  5. My family loves cone bread!!! Toppped with some butter and gobs of honey.

    I bag up the dry goods for my son to take to school as “boxed stuff” wasnt any good he would say. Have to take his word on it as I dont think I ever ate it before.

  6. So interesting, you FL folks….. around here it is “coewen” bread and is made from freshly ground corn meal, baking powder, salt and buttermilk… that’s all. :o)

  7. I really couldn’t imagine you calling it cone bread unless you were being silly and I can imagine you being silly. =)

Leave a Reply

