What’s in the bucket?

 Photobucket

 

Most of you know that my kids like to read and that I have had 101 items checked out from the library at one time.   So when The Happy Housewife asked what was in the library basket, I’d thought I’d share. 🙂  As you can tell most are for me. 🙄

Where I get my book ideas:  I pester my friends until they give up their book list, The Read-Aloud Handbook   (4th edition) by Jim Trelease, and Teen Lit Review.  I also just go down the Easy Reader shelves and pull off books.   I can tell by the cover if it is good. 😀

Edited to arrange in an order.

So here goes:

Children  have read these:
Ranger Rick Magazine – These are always well read.
A Llama in the Family by Johanna Hurwitz – I have used this for copy work, this week in school.
Lucy on the Loose by Ilene Cooper
Caroline Kennedy A Family of Poems – not read much.
Blue-Ribbon Blues by Marcia Thornton Jones

For School: Some of these I am looking at for next year.
Fun with Your Microscope by Shar Levine
The Usborne Internet-linked Complete Book of the Microscope (not my favorite)
The Microscope Book by Shar Levine
St. Augustine: American Oldest City by Linda Wade
500 Insects, A Visual Reference by Stephen A. Marshall (this is a great book and is well read here, but if you are trying to identify insects in your area, it is best to get a book on your area alone.
Florida’s Fabulous Butterflies
Florida’s Fabulous Insects (these two books really are fabulous and falling apart!)
Rocks and Minerals by Janice VanCleave
Microscopes and Magnifying Lenses by Janice VanCleave
Knights & Castles by Avery Hart
A midsummer-nights dream by Shakepeare – To be reviewed. For 2009/2010 school year.
The Wright Brothers by Quentin Reynolds – To be reviewed.
Shades of Gray by Carolyn Reeder – To be reviewed.
What Were Castles For? by Usborne
Phoebe The Spy by Judith Berry Griffin
Castle Life by Struan Reid
Read about Light and Color

For me:
The Tightwad Gazette Vol 2 & 3 (I have read these many years ago)
Lunch Lessons by Ann Cooper – Well read.
Walk Away the Pounds by Leslie Sansone – Haven’t looked at it yet.
Trail Food by Alan S. Kesselheim – Well read by me.
The Biography of Chocolate by Adrianna Morganelli – Haven’t looked at it yet.
Curves by Gary Heavin – Haven’t looked at it
The Sprouting Book by Ann Wigmore (I don’t know what that is in there. It is usually with my cookbooks. Well read.)
Blink of an Eye by Ted Dekker – I liked this book. I don’t care for his other ones.
Character Sketches by Institute in Basic Life Principles – borrowed from a friend. A beautiful book.

There are not too many readers in there, because my kids take the books everywhere they go.  They are usually on their beds.  When The Happy Housewife does this again, I am going to list the books on my son’s bookshelf.  You won’t believe what this 15yo boy has on his shelf since before the age of 10.

What’s in your bucket?

14 responses to “What’s in the bucket?

  1. I’m making a trip to the library tomorrow so I’ll post my list then. Right now the old books are in the bag ready to be taken back and I don’t feel like taking them out 🙂

  2. Wow! That’s a long list!! How do you get to them? Are many for reference? I’d feel a little green if you get to ACTUALLY read most of them! 🙂

    • How do we get to them? We just dig them out. Then we see other books we haven’t read and get them out. LOL

      Some of the school books are reference. I have read most of these. I do not get to read novels much. I edited the post to make it more reader friendly. 🙂

  3. You know, the first thing I thought when I saw the title was that song, “There’s a hole in my bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza. There’s a hole in my bucket . . . ” Do you remember that tune? I’m glad that wasn’t what it was. I am so impressed with your list of books. Wow!

  4. Mine is empty.

    The boy took everything back yesterday.

  5. We haven’t been going to the library lately which is very depressing for me. I can’t wait to bring them back home and force them to read. What is your son reading right now? Mine can’t seem to find anything that interests him.

  6. Great list, there are several I haven’t heard of! I just reserved Lunch lessons, sounds like a good read!
    Toni

  7. I usually have a lot more than this but I just returned all my help with college books, cookbooks and crochet books .
    Now all I have is dd#2 American History readers for the period we are studying.

    All the stars in the sky : the Santa Fe trail diary of Florrie Mack Ryder / McDonald, Megan.

    My face to the wind : the diary of Sarah Jane Price, a prairie teacher/Murphy, Jim

    Caddie Woodlawn / Brink, Carol Ryrie

    and… I’m still reading

    First ladies : [volume I] : the saga of the presidents’ wives and their power, 1789-1961 / Anthony, Carl Sferrazza

    I’m only to Julia Grant because I read at night and keep falling asleep. I really like the book it’s just by the time I get alone time to read it I’m toast. LOL

    • Ooo, the First Ladies book sounds interesting. Let’s see if my library has it…Yep, they do and I just requested it. LOL Going to look for My Face to the Wind also. 😀 Thanks for the list.

  8. Good post! I’ll have to copy you. 🙂

  9. Some great looking books! 😀 The Biography of Chocolate!! YUM!

Leave a Reply

