Playing With PSE6

Most people know I like to follow.  If I see something I like, I am going to copy it.  That is why when Melanie at Four Squares starting playing with her Photo Shop Elements 6, well…I had to follow.   I even copied her title to the post.

 I went into PSE and just started pushing buttons.  I have no idea how Melanie changed her photos.   As soon as she squeals and gives up the secret, I plan on trying it out with this photo.

Here is the original.  Yes, I copied her subject matter.  Problem?

Photobucket

And here are several pictures after clicking some buttons. Don’t ask me what I did, because I don’t have a clue.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I kinda like the last two the best.  They are not as wonderful as Melanie’s.

I’ll be playing around with the Photoshop again; after all, there are lots of buttons I haven’t used yet.

Since I like to copy/follow, I have decided to use Melanie as my children’s art teacher next year. Melanie doesn’t know about this yet, so keep the secret for me. I don’t want her to get a big head or think I am some kind of wacko groupie or anything.  It could cause problems between us.

Updated to add:
I contacted the Square Lady and threatened begged her to tell me the secret to her fancy-schamcy photo.  She caved in and told me.  Turns out all she does is push buttons too.  And I thought she had some kind of innate ability to work PSE6.  I might have to rethink copying her art work for my kids. 

Here’s my new photo using the same fluorescent chalk secret button that Melanie did.

Photobucket

Ok, so mine isn’t nearly as pretty as Melanie’s, but MINE has MORE Pink Flamingos in it. Yeah! So there!

11 responses to “Playing With PSE6

  1. I think it looks very cool. You guys and all your cool photos. I can’t even get mine off the camera. 🙂

  2. Hubby bought me PSE 7.0 for my birthday and let me tell you, I feel like I’m just pushing buttons too. My son has promised me a lesson. I’ve done good to crop things. But, you have inspired me yet again!!! I am going to master PSE 7.0.

  3. Well, I’m not actually a huge fan of Photoshop. I love SOC (straight out of the camera) shots. I actually like your original shot best.

    If I must add something to my photos, I use Flickr’s Picnic to throw in text or arrows. To make my headers, I use GIMP because it is free.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  4. The Square Lady is the homeschooling idol, isn’t she?? I want to be like her also, or at least have my kids taught by her. But I’ve afraid that they would never survive 🙂 .

    I like your third photo and the chalk photo best. Keep pushing…it’s the only way to learn.

  5. Um, yeah. You and I might have some issues to work out. LOL

    Your original picture is very nice. The only thing I would have done with that picture is sharpen it and bump the contrast the tiniest bit.

    I actually did all my adjustments BEFORE pushing the secret button. First I fix as much as I can in RAW before opening the photo in the editor. Hitting ctrl+j makes a new layer in PSE. I do that 7 or 8 times and make the needed adjustments to each layer. Then I flatten all the layers and sharpen the picture. (This doesn’t take very long at all once you’ve got your system down.) THEN I can push the secret button, but only if I really want to. 😀

    Go to that wonderful library of yours and check out The Photoshop Elements 6 Book for Digital Photographers by Scott Kelby. Or you could try Adobe Photoshop Elements 6: A Visual Introduction to Digital Photography by Philip Andrews.

    • The layer thing just doesn’t click with me. I don’t understand it. My wonderful library doesn’t have that book. One of these days I am going to buy it. What ever happened to the point and shoot camera, whatever you got is what you got and everyone accepted it as a good picture?

  6. That’s a lot of pink flamingos.

    A layer is a workable image on top of another. It can be the same image (copied) or a different image or no image at all (transparent). That’s as clear as an 80% opaque layer with burn.

  7. All I can say is God Bless Photoshop. Without it, I would still be doomed to a future of hideous, offcenter, over or underexposed, uglyass pictures. As has been my reputation up til the advent of digital cameras and lovely, lovely Photoshop.

    Which, btw, I am totally missing, since dh lost it off my computer, and the other one being still without a case. Waaahhhhh!!!!

  8. harold whitlock

    why doesn’t pse6 have the 8 adjustments in raw to deal with jpeg files . I have referenced and downloaded but can’t get the 8 adjustments shown in Kelby book on pse6 . It is a mystery.

Leave a Reply

