SMACK those oats!

Several years ago, we purchased a hand operated oat flaker. The hand operated flaker cost, at the time, less than half the price of the flaker for my electric mixer. I look at it this way, I saved some money and I get a workout. 🙂

We just place the oat groats in the top container, turn the little knob and wha-lah… flat oats come out the bottom part into a cup. We affectionately call this SMACKING oats.

Photobucket

My husband has oatmeal almost every morning for breakfast. He has one of the kids smack the oats, fill two containers and then he makes the oatmeal at work. My second daughter and I are the only other people in the household that like oatmeal.

The night before, we grind one cup of oats, then add one cup of water and one tablespoon of plain yogurt. We let this sit overnight in the refrigerator. In the morning, we add one more cup of water, a sweetner like honey or maple syrup and cook for less than 5 minutes. This is the old fashion way of making oatmeal. It use to be on the Quacker Oats package, but it was taken off because of housewives complaining it was too much trouble to soak the grains overnight (so I heard).

The reason to soak the grains over night, is to help oat become digestible. Ever get a tummy ache from eating oatmeal or granola? It’s because the grain is indigestible.

According to Nourishing Traditions we should NEVER eat granola because it is extremely indigestible.  But I don’t pay attention to a lot of things in this book.   😀 I like granola every once in a while. Tonight I have 8 cups of granola in the dehydrator right now. It is good sprinkled on vanilla yogurt or eaten as a snack.

granola

Granola

1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup coconut oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
8 cups of smacked oats
1 cup unsweetened coconut
1 cup toasted wheat germ

Mix dry ingredients.

Heat on low: honey, oil, and vanilla and add to the dry ingredients. Mix well, getting everything wet.

Place on trays in the dehydrator and dry overnight at 118 degrees. Or bat at 300 for 20-30 minutes, stirring well every 10 minutes.

You can add just about anything you want to the granola. We do not add nuts, because of allergies in the family.

Yummy-yummy!

7 responses to “SMACK those oats!

  1. Don’t tell me that Sally Fallon does not know everything…that would be disheartening. You will have to tell me what other parts of her book to ignore.

  2. Gosh, I learn something new every day. I had no idea you could even buy a “smacker” ! !

    I’m definitely going to try your overnight recipe for oatmeal. Sounds really good.

  3. I need an oat smacker. I’ve made “porridge” or “gruel” with whole oats and it’s just not our thing.

  4. It looks good, but I can’t eat oats or oatmeal any more 😦 …you will just have to eat an extra bowl of it everyday for me 😀

  5. I have never had a problem with oats, cooked or uncooked. But someone I know who is extremely health conscious also refuses to allow granola in the house, and only eats oatmeal that has been slow cooked for an hour (which, btw, is really yummy).

    Is Sally Fallon the one who has a vendetta against soy? That alone makes me take her words with a grain of salt. :p

Leave a Reply

