Apple Oven Pancake

Yesterday, I made Apple Leather in my Excalibur Dehydrator.  Last night I decided to make the Apple Oven Pancake by Dehydrater2Store.  The recipe is in Episode 7.  I was told by Tammy, the ownder of Dehydrate2Store , will be opening their own website within the next two weeks, so all of the recipes will be written down. 🙂 

I try to buy apples when they go on sale for less than a dollar a pound.  I usually have a few ziplock bags of dried apples in the freezer.  I never bake with them. We would rather eat them as chips, but the Apple Oven Pancake looked too good to pass up. 

I get out the dried apples.  These are Granny Smiths, it is the only kind I bake with, but any apple is great as a chip. 🙂    I added just a little more, because I know that a few slices will disappear before I add the water for them to soak in.   I was an eye-witness to their disappearance. Yep.

dried apples
 

I add boiling water and wait 5 minutes. 

adding water

Then I add other ingredients. Smells good… Notice the apples are not limp. They have soaked up the hot water, which makes them ready for the oven.

wet apples

You have to bake the apples for a little bit  before adding a batter topping. The apples come out a very nice color and smell really good.

adding dough

I poured the dough over the apples and popped the pan back in the oven for a while. Because I did not use a tart pan, my baking time was longer than requested in the recipe.

the dough

After it bakes, it comes out all puffed up and pretty.

Mmmmm

Just add some powdered sugar to the top and wah-lah a yummy breakfast/desert. 😀

all done

I will make this again, but with a tart pan.  This is my excuse to get one.  😀

7 responses to “Apple Oven Pancake

  1. I am hungry and that looks fabulous! I’ve never made oven pancakes w/dried apples before.

  2. It is always important to have a good excuse to get kitchen ware.

    Amazon has the for a great price.

  3. Looks a lot like the Dutch Baby recipe I make. Hope you all enjoyed it!

  4. yummy, it kind of reminds me of a dish I made in my cast iron frying pan in the oven. That was delicious, so I’m assuming yours was delicious too!

    I wish you best of luck in finding a tart pan, two weeks ago I went to over 6 stores in search of a flan/tart pan. No luck. So I bought two pie plates which look, astonishingly enough, just like the one in your pictures.

    But I still want a flan pan [I’m going for the rhyme 🙂 ]

    btw, I have something on my blog I am hoping you’ll join.

  5. Um. I have no dehydrator, and my oven is, yes, a toaster oven. But I SERIOUSLY want to make that!

    • You can use fresh apples and start at the baking time for the apple filling. The recipe called for raisins, but I didn’t add those. You can also make this in your toaster oven. I make muffins in mine. 🙂

  6. That looks very good, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

