Drinking glasses

About two weeks ago, I went through our cabinet that holds our glasses for drinking. I threw out a lot of unwanted glasses. After that I hid all of the glasses except for six, in six different colors.

It seems like we were washing 30 glasses/cups three times a day. I had enough. I assigned each person one cup. If they want a drink, they had better find their cup and wash it out. It has worked except for one thing; when the cups are in the dishwasher. Well, we either go in and get it or wait until the washer is done.

Sir Son has figured out another way to have a drink without getting his cup out.

thirsty

Thankfully, he waits until there is only a little left and he drinks it all.

Best part about assigning color coded cups:

  1. I  KNOW who left the cup on the counter.
  2. I don’t hear, “I don’t know where it is”.  They either find it, or go without.
  3. We only wash six cups about 3 times a day. 
  4. Since “Not Me” does not have a cup, I also don’t hear “NOT ME!” when I ask who left this cup here.

I do refuse to go with color coded milk jugs.  😀

5 responses to “Drinking glasses

  1. I have been doing that for years.

  2. I love that idea! We do try to use one cup a person per day but everyone uses the same cups and puts them on the side of the sink and then they get mixed up and we don’t know whose is whose. So color coded cups would alleviate that. Thanks. I’m going to try that.

  3. Glad that it is working for you.

  4. My family used to do that…we had one set each, with our names marked in nailpolish on the bottom. Grumble grumble. :p

  5. Great picture, in a slobbery, milk jug sort of way! LOL!

    We don’t have specific cups, but we have specific places on the counter where we leave our cup du jour.

Leave a Reply

