Balloons and Chocolate

It’s not what you think.

Since Friday, we have been celebrating our daughter’s 8th birthday.  We have had chocolate cake, ice cream, and ice cream cake.  We were caked out by the time her actual birthday got here.   Since we really can’t have too much ice cream, or chocolate, or cake, we had ice cream in chocolate cups.  We were fresh out of cake, so we used oreos instead.

To make the chocolate cups, blow up balloons to about 4 inch diameter.

Chocolate Cups

Please wash the balloons, you don’t know where they have been.

Melt semi-sweet chocolate chips. I used the microwave. Dip each balloon into the chocolate and cover the bottom. Should look like a cup of some sort. lol

Chocolate Cups

Do this with all the balloons and place them on a waxed cookie sheet.

Photobucket

Freeze for five minutes. While they are in the freezer, melt another batch of chips. Take out the balloons and dips again into the chocolate. Freeze for another ten minutes.

Take them out and carefully pop the balloon and peel it off the chocolate. Only then do you discover that the balloon will not come off the chocolate and the chocolate melts in your hands.

Try not to say a bad word in front of your children.

Chocolate Cups

Do this for two balloons, then get very frustrated and throw the whole thing back in the freezer too cool off. Uh, I mean you should cool off. Forget about the chocolate cups for a few hours.

After you and the chocolate have cooled off, take out the trays and try again. If it doesn’t work, just break up the chocolates onto the ice cream.

Well, will you look at that! It worked! The balloon came off really nicely and the chocolate didn’t melt in the hands. So, forget about the 10 minute freeze and freeze the things for hours.

Chocolate Cups

Place these cups in a nice bowl and fill with ice cream, crumbly some oreos on top, and drizzle some homemade chocolate sauce over all.

Chocolate Cups

It’s a good thing.

Chocolate Cups

A very good thing.

Chocolate Cups

14 responses to “Balloons and Chocolate

  1. These are great! A very good thing 🙂 suddenly my breakfast cereal in a regular bowl looks like it could be improved upon…

  2. Oh my do those look yummy. What a neat idea.

  3. What a great idea! I am going to try that, but I will take your advice and leave it for hours.

  4. What a party!! The chocolate cups are adorable.

    The tshirts and sponge bombs too! And even the bear tanks! You sure know how to throw a party!!

    The challenge with the glasses I can see that being effective. I am ALWAYS finding glasses EVERYWHERE and on things that a glass should never set on.
    My 15 yr has taken to using a quart jar for a glass. Well one fell out of the suburban door. Rolled onto a busy street and was crushed a moment later. He has been banned to using plastic only.

  5. Geez..it’s too early in the morning to be looking at all that chocolate…my stomach hurts! :p

  6. Just wondering here, did you spray the balloons w/a non-stick spray first?

    Looks great and I love the concept of making them for cereal bowls 😛 yummy

    • No, I didn’t spray them. The instructions did suggest that and I didn’t think about it until after trying to peel the balloons off the first time. I’m not sure that would work. I don’t know if the chocolate would stick to the balloons to make the bowl shape.

  7. you celebrate birthdays for a whole week? that is so fun. You are a wonderful mom. Your kids must love you to the moon and back.

    Can I come to FL for my birthday week?

    ps my blog posting is still stagnant. blah

    • No we don’t usually celebrate that much. We have one birthday party with friends. I try to get the kids to ask only one or two friends over for dinner. Doesn’t always work. Then we have birthday dinner at the Grandparents, then I have to have a special dinner, just the family, on their actual birthdays.

  8. oh, I meant to also mention that my DH and I made chocolate boxes with that method using freezer paper folded into little boxes. Then we filled them chocolate/grand marnier mousse and topped with a mandrin orange displayed on pedistal cake plate and served at our Chocolate Party.

  9. Those are so cute! I love that idea! Thanks for the comment on my blog to by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

