Book List

Son, age 15:
Military History of the Western World, Vol. 1, 2, & 3, by J.F.C. Fuller

Daughter, age 11:
The Capture, by Kathryn Lasky, this is a series and we have six of them. I don’t know if there are more.
The Crooked River by Shelley Pearsall

Mossflower, a Redwall book**sigh** We came to an agreement. She can read the Redwalls as long as she read a different book (one I pick) for every Redwall. I did this with my son and it worked very well.

I have requested several more books from the library.  I got my list from Teen Lit Review.

Daughters, age 8 & 9:
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, by Judi Barrett (one of our favorites)
Pickles to Pittsburgh, by Judi Barrett (not as good as the meatball book)
Mr. Katapat’s Incredible Adventures, by Barrous (don’t know about this one)
Peppe The Lamplighterby Elisa Bartone
The Carp in the Bathtub, by Barbara Cohen
Inside Laura’s Little House, by Carolyn Strom Collins
Jimmy Zangwow’s Out-of-this-world MoonPie Adventure, by Tony Diterlizzi
Mrs. Spitzer’s Garden, by Edith Pattou

I have also requested several books for my 9yo using Teen Lit Review.  Seems like our library  branch doesn’t have some of the really good books. 🙂

For me, Age 29 again:
Little Heathens by Mildred Armstrong Kalish, highly recommended by Razor Family Farms.  I haven’t started it yet.

 Need more ideas?  Go to The Happy Housewife

4 responses to “Book List

  1. Oooo Little Heathens is just the best book ev-ah! I love it!

    One more to recommend: Gone-Away Lake, a terrific book meant for children but a great read at any age.

    Excited to read you reviews!

  2. When we saw Up, they had a preview for Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs coming out later this year. It looked really good!

  3. I’ll have to check out that site as I’m looking for good books for my teen daughter all the time. 😀

Leave a Reply

