Cooking Without Electricity

My daughter and I signed up for a preparedness cooking class at the extension office.  This class was all about cooking gourmet meals during an outage.  Since we are in hurricane season, I thought it might be a good idea to go. 

We got there rather early and got good seats.    While waiting I bought some knives.  🙂

Preparedness cooking

The first thing the lady did was give a thirty minute power point presentation on what is needed. This put the daughter almost to sleep. I didn’t know they were going to just talk for thirty minutes. lol

Once the woman started cooking, the daughter perked right up. The woman spoke about owning a hand can opener. We have several. I have never owned an electric can opener. The other thing she said was necessary to own was a Butane Burner. She heated two food items with this burner. One was a Black Bean Soup and the other was the Skillet Peach Crumble.

You can see the burner in the photo below.

Preparedness cooking

Our hurricane season begins June 1 and ends November 30th. Our average temps are in the upper 90’s during this time. Our winter months are two days in December and maybe three days in January. Do any of you think we will be making soup, in an outage caused by a hurricane? I think not. The soup was very good, which really surprised me.

Preparedness cooking

The Skillet Peach Cobbler was good. I think it needed something else, but when your hungry, hot, and stressed, any dessert will be a welcomed treat.  Except anything made with hot fudge or melted chocolate.

Preparedness cooking

After watching her prepare the food, we waited in line to have a taste.

Preparedness cooking

Preparedness cooking

As a rule, I taste everything that is prepared at these classes. I even made my daughter taste everything. It’s a rule I inforce on anyone who comes with me. It even applies to me if they serve Hot Fudge. The good Lord has had mercy on me and they have never offered any recipe with Hot Fudge. I think they know the truth. 😉

Preparedness cooking

My daughter’s favorite was the Black Foresst Tarts and the Skillet Peach Crumble. No surprise there. What surprised us both, was the Olive-Walnut Tampenade. This was really good. It was served over a nice big round cracker. The big surprise…I do not like olives, black or green. I pick them out of salads and off of pizzas. Nasty little things…yuck. Because of my rule, I had to try the Olive-Walnut Tampenade and guess what the two main ingredients are? Yep, black and green olives.

My next favorite was the Black Bean Soup. It had a nice flavor to it and I didn’t miss the meat. It does have chicken broth in it. My least favorite was the Salade Nicoise, Honey Mustard Chicken with Pecans and Texas Caviar.

My three favorite recipes can be found here.

It was a very interesting class. Most people just think of opening a can of tuna during a time of crises. Well, you’ll get a whole new crises from your children, if you go that route. We have been very blessed with a gas stove and water available to us for cooking. During our five day without electricity, a couple of years ago, we had pancakes, spaghetti, sandwiches, pizza, whatever we wanted. I had even stocked the freezer with extra bread before hand.

It all boils down to being prepared.

Do you prepare for a natural disaster?

14 responses to “Cooking Without Electricity

  1. That sounds like an interesting class. I like how they used the mirror to show you the top of the table. Cool idea!

    We don’t really have many natural disasters here. A hail storm is about the worst we get. There have been some major floods and tornadoes not too far away, but we have been spared. And I like it that way 🙂

    What in the world is wrong with Hot Fudge?? Yum!

  2. Interesting about the Olives because I also can’t stand them but am now curious about trying the recipe, lol!

    I’ve often read the emergency preparedness lists and thought… hmm, really the essential thing is the water. Having the water ready and set aside.

    Then I realized, I have the BBQ, a simple but effective fondue type cooker, and some other simple candle stylized food warmers that have been known to bring my buffet foods to a boil instead of simply warming them. So cooking, I think is covered. Perhaps not in the most effective way but we can eat food.

    Non-electric can opener, just like you well covered.

    Foods, well so long as I do my routine grocery shopping and the emergency didn’t come after a family emergency in which I didn’t do my grocery shopping, then check.

    For us, the emergency is likely to be an ice storm in the winter. Then it isn’t a matter of food but of heat. And that… I have not found a way to heat our house effectively and safely. But we do have a HUGE supply of blankets, so I think if we had an emergency, we’d be okay.

  3. I love Tampenade, but since I try to steer clear of crackers and bread, it kind of limits its use. Not something I want to eat by the spoonful!

    We definitely prepare for natural disasters/power outages.

    • Oh, you bought RADA knives, too! Yeah!

      • Yep, I buy RADA knives for my MIL and myself every time I go to one of these cooking classes. LOL We like the paring knives the best. They had four different ones and I said, “Well, which one do we want?” and the lady said, “Oh, you’ll need the heavy duty one.” How’d she know? lol

      • LOL, maybe you inadvertently tipped her off to your knife-throwing skills.

        If you don’t have the tomato slicer…it’s awesome!

      • I bought the tomato slicer when I was at the show. 😀

  4. Well, I *try* to be prepared…and then we go through a broke period, and eat it all. So back to square one. At this point, our pool outside is our emergency water source. Luckily for my family, one of our enduring interests is emergency survival, so we all have various tips and tricks up our sleeves if Armageddon comes. :p

  5. I cook on our woodstove alot during the winter months. 🙂 That was a life-saver during the ice-storm.

  6. I think about what I would do if we didn’t have electricity or water. We’d be not happy.

    I have water stored in the big freezer and we have the type of stove that campers use. That’s about it. It’s rare for this area to have a natural disaster. I guess the last one was the blizzard of 1993 and it affected the whole area. Some lost power for days, but our neighborhood was back with power on the same day.

    I like those knives, they resemble mine and I have no idea where mine came from.

  7. What a neat class-I would love to attend one. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of them having one around here-course this isn’t hurricane land either.

    Loved your dried fruit post!

Leave a Reply

