Sweet Cold Sugary Goodness

One of the Peas announced that she needed ice cream.   We don’t have any ice cream.   We can make ice cream in the ice cream maker.  No…we don’t all enough of the ingredients and it takes hours.    The Pea is not happy.

So, to make her happy and to have some fun, we made ice cream in Ziploc bags. 🙂

First you need to gather all the ingredients.  Milk, sugar, vanilla, salt, ice, one small baggie, one large baggie and a few kids.

cooking

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar (or to taste)
  • 6 tablespoons salt
  • ice
  • Mix the milk, sugar, and vanilla into the small baggie. Seal tight.

    cooking

    This sugary liquid will magically change into ice cream, which is great for a hot Florida day.

    cooking

    Add lots of ice and the salt to the large baggie. Place the small goody bag inside the large bag and seal tight. Knead the ice around the liquid. The girls got dish towels to wrap around the bag, because it got too cold for them to handle. This takes up to 10 minutes. My girls had ice cream in 7 minutes.

    cooking

    You should have heard the squeals, when they discovered they had ice cream!!

    cooking

    Now the taste test. Is it wonderful? Yes it is!

    cooking

    This is the Pea who wanted the ice cream. She says, “Mom, we have to do this everyday.” Mom says, “No, I don’t think so.”

    Now go make some summer time fun for yourselves.

    14 responses to “Sweet Cold Sugary Goodness

    1. That looks fun…my boys would love it! I bought an ice cream maker a few months ago and I am having fun making fresh, natural ice cream a few times each week. We love ice cream at this house. I’m still searching for the perfect ice cream maker recipe though so if you have a good one, let me know please.

    2. I guess you need one of those little counter-top electric ice cream makers. =)

    3. Neat! I’ve got 2 peas who will love this-thanks!

    4. That is really cool:)

    5. We have done this before and it is good ice cream. This reminds me that I need to get the ingredients together to make more ice cream here this weekend and then make sure I have enough to make some special stuff of hubby and I while the kids are gone next week. ❤

    6. Dh is starting to push for us to make homemade ice cream. I am resisting. Cause he wouldn’t settle for something simple and easy like that. Nope. He needs the kind that you heat, and cool, and freeze, and then stir, and freeze again, and then fold together, and freeze again…and all needing special, high end ingredients. Mmhmm. Sure, I’m going to do that. Yup.

    7. Great idea! Anemone is loving the ice cream maker she conned my brother into buying me for Christmas. (“You know what Mom has always wanted but never has been able to have? An ice cream maker! Yes, really! It’s true!”) The only trouble is that she forgets to wash the bowl and put it back in the freezer. I’ll have to show her this!

    8. hey! it’s me! you’re long lost bloggy friend!
      can I have some?

      I have been making kahlua, pina colada mix, ice and milk in my vitamix. an adult version of the kid’s treat.

    Leave a Reply

    