A chocolate frosty

The girls and I have been trying out this recipe we found.  It is suppose to be just like the Wendy’s Frosty.  As of yet, we haven’t gotten it to work.  

This was our second attempt.   Notice the big chunks in there?  That is ice.  The first batch was more like a very watery shake, but it still tasted good.   This one was a thicker watery shake.   I used half the amount of ice water, the recipe called for.  We also put this one in the freezer for several minutes and that helped a lot, but it wasn’t creamy.

Chocolate Frosty

I froze my chest after having this. Sir Husband says I get a chest freeze, because I have a lot to freeze.   I have never gotten a brain freeze.  Sir Husband says it is because you can’t freeze space.   At least I can be in the Lord’s Army.  According to Veggie Tales, if you get a brain freeze you can’t be in the Lord’s Army.   

Back to the frosty. 

For the third attempt, I didn’t use any water, just extra ice.  That made it thicker, but still it was not creamy.  We will have to continue our experiment, until we get it right.  🙂

I like this recipe (below) from Hillbilly Housewife, because I have all the ingredients.  Does anyone know why I am not getting the creamy smooth frosty, like I have seen on other blogs?

 Hillbilly Housewife

  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups ice water
  • 1-1/2 cups nonfat dry milk powder
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 to 1-1/2 trays of ice cubes, as much as you can spare
  • 2 tablespoons corn oil plus a 5-second squirt of non-stick spray for emulsification purposes

Place all of the ingredients into the blender, including the oil and the non-stick spray. Use less water for thicker milk shakes and more water for shakes that are easy on your blender motor. The blender should be about 3/4’s full. Place the lid on. Process for a full 2 minutes. Pour into cups and serve. Makes 4 – 12oz servings.

There are other Wendy Frosty recipes out there, but I haven’t tried any. 

Wendy’s Frosty
Copycat Wendy’s Frosty
Top Secret Wendy’s Frosty

8 responses to “A chocolate frosty

  1. If you drink store-bought chocolate milk, I have a Wendy’s Frosty recipe on my blog. Guaranteed to give you chest freeze, lol.

  2. hmmm, are you using your blender or vitamix?
    here is the changes I would make since you didnt ask.

    I would drop the water, milk pwd and the oil&spray, and use whole milk or half & half (!!!)

    OR what if you used a liquid flavored coffee creamer? just a thought

    of course I havent had a wendy’s frosty in YEARS. with all the willing taste testers you can experiment all summer.

    • The oil and spray have to say in. It is what suppose to give the creaminess. I dropped all the water and used ice cubes, the third time around. It didn’t work well. I don’t buy liquid coffee creamer.

      I used my vitamix. 🙂 I think I will try with whole milk and not the powder stuff. I want to use ingredients that I already have.

      Yep, I have lots of testers here. I’m sure we’ll come up with something good. If not, we’ll at least be able to say we tried and had fun at the same time. LOL

  3. I was also was going to suggest using something that has more cream to it. I think that I’ve only had a W. Frosty one time and that was quite a while ago but I’ve watched many consume them and it looks to be thicker than a shake but thinner than ice cream.

  4. Maybe really obvious and stupid question, but are you actually blending them long enough? Not just the two min they say, but long enough to eliminate the ice chunks?

    • I don’t know. I thought about that too. The vita-mix will turn it into water if I let it go long enough. I should let it go for a while and see what happens. 🙂

  5. I never got that recipe to taste good either. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

