Carrot Soup

I made Carrot Soup (recipe way down below) for dinner the other night. It was pretty good.

  • One out of four kids found this to be edible.
  •  Three out of four kids went to bed hungry.
  • Two out of two adults didn’t care.

Carrot Soup

I used chicken broth for the stock. I waited until the last 25 minutes of
cooking time to add the lentils. I didn’t want them to be mush.

I did not puree the soup after cooking, like the recipe suggested.  About two cups was reserved for experimental drying. I placed plastic wrap around the drying tray and poured on the soup, by that time the soup had thickened a good deal.

I dried it for 12 hours or so.

Dried Carrot Soup

Then it was vacuumed sealed and placed in the freezer for some future date. The rehydrating instructions are at the bottom of the recipe.

packaged carrot soup

Yes, I know what it looks like.

Next time we make this, it will be with beef broth and barley (instead of rice).

Carrot Soup
Source: Backpack Gourmet
Serves 4

In a large pot over medium heat, cook for 15 minutes:
1 TB olive oil
1 onion, chopped
6 carrots, scrubbed and chopped
1 zucchini, chopped

Add and bring to a boil:
6 cups any variety stock
3/4 cup dried lentils
1/2 cup uncooked brown rice

Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 50 minutes or until rice is tender.

Stir in:
1 tsp honey
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 TB hot sauce

Puree the soup in a blender or food processor. Spread on covered dehydrator
trays and dry for 6 hours at 145.

To rehydrate, cover with water 2 inches above level of food in pot, boil, stir,
and serve.

7 responses to “Carrot Soup

  1. I’m with the kids…I would have gone to bed hungry. I do not like cooked carrots.

  2. Well, I NEVER go to bed hungry! haha

    Soups with chicken are usually on the blah side to me, so I think the beef and barley will be much better.

  3. I would have eaten all but the mushrooms but I can see one of my kids, will remain nameless but you have one as well, turning up the nose at this since neither of my kids like their carrots cooked though one would have tried it and most likely finished the bowl but wouldn’t have asked for seconds.

    As for the stuff that was dried and vacuume packed – yeah it does look like….

  4. No, carrot soup would not be met with excitement here. However, I did put pumpkin in a batch of chili this week and 4 out of 5 people never knew it. ;o)

  5. Looks good to me – I think The Goobs would probably eat it too, though they’re not big fans of turmeric.

  6. Your carrot soup looks AWESOME!!!! Thank you for the receipe–I’ll definitely need to try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

