Twisted Kitchen

Wardeh at GNOWFGLINS is hosting a Tuesday Twister Blog Carnival and we are ordered to post “brief summaries of the various doings in my your kitchen and life – all real food related”.    She’s tough that way.    I told her I wasn’t  sure if I could do that, since I put farm fresh eggs in chocolate sugary (white sugar that is) brownies.   Then she told me to get off my butt and make something healthy and post it.  My family depends on it.  I got scared so, here it is.

You know I am kidding about Wardeh being scary, right?  Maybe not.  😉

To find more lovely works of art from other Tuesday Twisters go here. You’ll just have to wait until I can link to her Twisted post. Apparently Wardeh likes to sleep in and gets up much later than I, like hours later. We won’t talk about the different time zones we live in, like hours different. OK?   Updated to add the Twister link. 🙂

 This week I concentrated on making lunches and snacks that we could take to our homeschool co-op.  We will be at co-op from 7:15am to 2:30pm, with a 30 minute lunch thrown in there.  I need easy quick lunches to make, because food and I don’t mix at 5:00am when I get up.  Neither do boxed or store bought lunches mix with me.  Ok, I splurge on a store bought sandwich or sushi for myself once in a while, but don’t tell the kids.  Not that they would want to eat that, but they would start drooling and begging for a greasy soggy pizza, then I’d have to say yes and eat half of it.  You understand.

 

Dried fruit Grocery store had fruits on sale, so I stocked up for our snacks on the move.
disaster These are called DISASTERS. I took one little iddy-biddy bite and fed them to Sir Garbage Can. No recipe is forthcoming.
Mini buns These are mini-buns. I took our new favorite bread recipes, “Basic Dough from Breadbeckers” and form these little cuties. They are great stuffed with a lunch meat like healthy turkey (see Wardeh I can say healthy). I first made these while the girls were in VBS. They needed something to eat on the way home. I experimented with these this week by placing two in the freezer. I wanted to know how well they froze and thawed. Being prepared for lunches/snack for co-op is important. They turned out great, so a pile of these will go in the freezer this week.
pumpkin muffins Chocolate Chip Mini-Muffins. Wardeh might boot me off the carnival for this one. These are really good. The girls ate most of them and I had to sneak some to the freezer. They are in there now, calling to the girls. I need to know if the girls like them after being thawed. I changed this recipe by adding mini-chocolate chips. It also has brown and white sugar. I’m sorry Wardeh, please forgive me. At least it has whole wheat flour.

That is all the twisting I did in my kitchen this week. Come back next Tuesday, to see if I get twisted again. I am hoping to find a granola bar we all like or a glorified healthy chocolate chip cookie, all without nuts and dried fruit. Maybe I’ll twist about that.

16 responses to “Twisted Kitchen

  1. Fantastic! And see, I am not sleeping in, I am heading outside right now to milk the goats. I wrote my post last night so it would come out earlier than I am available. You can link to it now: http://gnowfglins.com/2009/08/04/tuesday-twister-blog-carnival-2009-08-04/

    Thanks for participating, Michelle. I’m not going to kick you out. Anyway, you don’t deserve it. Your twister is great! Love, Wardeh

  2. Are those dried kiwis in that jar? Did you dry the fruit yourself? I would love to do more of this kind of thing when I get a dehydrator, though I’ve heard you can dehydrate food in the sun.

    Thanks for your post!
    Sarah

  3. I want to know what your disasters were supposed to be. And just think of all the calories you are burning by twisting in your kitchen! You go girl!

  4. Neat twisting : )

  5. I can relate with the “disasters”! Healthy muffins are hard to do well. You may have noticed I didn’t twist any sweets this week… there’s a reason.

  6. Gotta tell you that those mini buns look good but the choc chip muffins would be hit here too. Chocolate is healthy by the way and I am sticking to that.

  7. The dried fruits look really good. Healthy for all your Bigs and Littles!

    Actually, the failed muffins don’t look half bad, either 🙂

  8. I loved dehydrated fruit! Pineapple is the best if you can wait to eat it instead of eating it fresh. I have made a few pumpkin rubber tires in my day also!

  9. Food doesn’t agree with me at 5am either! Love your ideas!

  10. Did you notice that your banana chips seem to have faces on them? Sad faces at that.

    You did very well. I know you tend to make things from scratch due to Sir Son’s allergies so I think you probably make more healthy stuff in your kitchen than most do.

    Great job.

  11. Elaine – They do look sad. How funny. You are observant!

Leave a Reply

