Twisted Kitchen

It’s time for another Tuesday Twister over at Gnowfglins. To check out what is Twisting in other peoples kitchens, go to Tuesday Twister.

This week I made myself a Grilled Chicken thing. (I have been informed by the famous Chocolatechic, that this is a quesadila)    My husband blackens chicken breasts one night and I make this the following day for my lunch. All I do is saute onions and the left over chicken until tender. Then I heat up the tortilla in the skillet, then add the chicken/onion mixture, with a good amount of shredded pepper-jack cheese, then fold over the tortilla and continue to cook until cheese is melted. 🙂 We never use pre-shredded cheese. I was told by a breast cancer survivor that the pre-shredded cheeses are the first things the doctors tell them to stop eating. With the chicken we stock up when the health food store puts them on sale.

Grilled chicken

Still continuing to look for snacks for Sir Son. I made these granola Sunday afternoon. He says, “The taste is ok, but they hurt my teeth to eat them.” He has braces and that means he can’t eat them. Oh well, the girls like them. I changed the recipe a little bit. I substituted 1/4 of white bean flour for the whole wheat, added 1/2 cup (maybe less) of sunflowers, and added 1 cup of chocolate chips.

 Granola bars

During the week, I sprouted lentils. It takes 3 to 5 days before they are done. Once they are sprouted, I placed them on my dehydrator’s tray and sprinkled half with sea salt and half with Tony’s seasoning (no msg). They took about 4 hours to dry and they make a great crunchy snack; much better than chips. I think I like the salted lentils the best. I need to make a mega batch of this because my husband and I will be having these for our snack. (I forgot to take pictures of them dried)

lentals

 

Things I made, but not pictured:
Five loaves of whole wheat bread. 3 plain, 1 cinnamon, and 1 cinnamon/raisin
Fruit smoothies and green smoothies. I am still working on the green smoothies, they are just not coming out right.
Whole Wheat Waffles
Tacos We do not use prepackaged seasonings. Many of them contain MSG, which we can’t have.

We like to share our good food and we are doing it again.  We have had a nightly visitor for a very long time, and nothing we have done has stopped this visitor getting into our garbage cans.  We have placed a spoon full of the Taco meat in an animal cage and we are hoping we will catch something that is cuter than this guy.  After catching whatever it is, we’ll fix it for dinner with all the fixin’s.   😀     Just kidding, it will be transported somewhere else, far, far away.

Update (morning of 8/11/09):
Even a great beast loves a healthy home-cooked meal.
The violinist named him Chester.
Chester goes bye-bye this afternoon, when Sir Husband gets home.

animal

If you are interested in wild game for dinner, you can find Coon recipes here. Make sure it is organic and healthy. I don’t think a raccoon digging in peoples garbage is considered organic. lol

22 responses to “Twisted Kitchen

  1. Oh my gosh….I can’t believe you caught the visitor! He’s so cute. How could you be mad at a face like that??

    And what do you mean shredded cheese is bad?? What’s wrong with it? That’s a new one that I haven’t heard.

    • The great beast has a very cute face, but it growls at us.

      There is something in shredded cheese (the ingred. that keeps it seperated, I think) that is really bad for women. I’ll try to find more information. Wardeh, might already know.

  2. Your top picture is something called a quesadila.

  3. Oh, wow! You caught your thief! So he is going bye-bye. Are you going to be cooking with him and sharing in next week’s Twister? 🙂

    I love what you did with your sprouted lentils – I am going to try that for sure. I’ve never heard of Tony’s though. Is it spicy? It looks like it might be with the red coloring? I could use my herbed seasoning salt, I bet.

    Thanks for being in the Twister this week! Everything looks delicious!

    On the cheese – I’ve never heard about extra ingredients in shredded cheese before. I’m curious to hear what it is if you can find out what your friend meant.

    • LOL No, I will not be cooking with him. I know what he has been eating out of our garbage. LOL

      The Tony’s is spicy. Your herbed seasoning salt would be a whole lot better. I’ll do that next time. In fact, I’m going to start sprouting more lentals. 🙂 Your seasoning salt would be good on sprouted wheat and then placed on a salad. Ooooo, I’m getting hungry.

  4. Now I’m hungry!!! Everything looks so good.
    I think it is something they use to keep the cheese from sticking together that might be bad for you.

  5. PrairieMistress

    Ooh, the quesadila looks delicious! So does the granola, and the lentils. 😉 Like Mom said, we’re going to have to try it!

    Haniya

  6. Do you sprout your lentils in a sprouter? I was thinking of trying my colander for sprounting some since my jar sprouter is trying to make broccoli sprouts. What a great way to use them! I had heard of doing something like that with garbanzo’s but never lentils.

    Good job catching your garbage thief.

    • Millie, I usually have several 1/2 gallon size jars going with something in them. I bought plastic sprout covers for them, or I use clean knee high material. 🙂 I also have a Sprout Master tray and that is what I used for the lentils this time.

  7. Yummo! That looks so good. 😀

    Naomi

  8. The “quesadilla” looks so good!
    For my green drink I use pineapple juice and a combination of raw spinach, celery, brocolli, and parsley. The pineapple juice really hides the flavor (if you have picky eaters) and you can make it as thick or thin as you like.
    I also love sprouted lentils.

    • Thank you. I’ll give the pineapple juice a try. I also use raw spinach sometimes, but I am having trouble getting all of the leaves to blend. I made one yesterday that was just ok. It had spinach, figs, bananas, and an apple and honey. It lacked really good taste. LOL

  9. Your chicken thing ;looks good. Holly really loves quesadilas. She likes them with mushrooms and cheese in them.

    Nifty about the dried lentils. I might have to try that. John needs snacks.

    Now I am curious about the shredded cheese, not that I buy that much, maybe one bag a year, but I am still curious. My brain is hungry all the time.

    LOL at putting the rating thing up.

    I guess the coon needs a tee-shirt that says, “I eat garbage.” That way he might live longer. I pity the coon caught in a corn field.

    • I can’t find anything on the pre-shredded cheeses, after searching. I can only go by what someone told me, after they saw the doctor. 🙂

      The coon is gone. Turns out to be a young female. Sir Husband has the trap set again, because Sir Son says they travel in packs and since that one was young, there should be more. 🙂

  10. Well, I hope you don’t have anymore raccoons!
    Is that the first time you sprouted lentils? I’m glad they turned out well, I’ll have to try that.

  11. First – glad you caught the thieving rascal, if we had any up here hubby wouldn’t be setting traps but would be shooting them.

    Second – I like chicken quesadilas as well but I use either cheddar or a Mexi blend of cheese. I’ve never heard that about pre-shredded cheese. Sometime I buy it packaged that way and sometime I shred it myself.

    Third – sorry but the sprouted things look like tadpoles to me and I don’t think I could eat them. 😛

    Fourth – I thought your granola bars were some brownies or bar cookies that you had made 😦 Sorry the boy didn’t like them.

  12. The sprouted lentils DO look good! And I like the idea of sprinkling them with seasoning salt. I don’t have a dehydrator at this point. Could you dry them in the oven on the “warm” setting, do you think, or would the heat be too high? That’s how I dry my sprouted spelt grain, but I am concerned even with that that it’s too much heat. Because I live in sunny (and right now, sweltering!) Arizona, I’ve wondered if there’s a way to rig up a “solar” or some other kind of outdoor dehydrator for sprouted goodies. Guess I’ll have to look into it.
    —Sonya

    • Hi Sonya,

      I know you can dehydrate things in your oven, but I have never done it. I am guessing if you can dry wheat in your oven, then you should be able to dry lentils in there too. I just don’t know.

  13. I love the idea to dry the sprouted lentils. They sound great and what a healthy snack. I would love to make that Chicken quesadilla with some yummy goat cheese!
    Thanks so much!
    Sarah

  14. I always knew there was something evil about pre-shredded cheese. Just ‘taint natural!! :p If you ever hear exactly what it is to avoid in the shredded stuff, you’ll let us know, right? (I have breast cancer in the family, so I try to do things that lessen my chance of getting it. Okay, so the person in question (Grandma) was 95 years old when she got it, but still! She’s now 96 and cancer free! lol)

Leave a Reply

