USA Geography

Two years ago I went to our local homeschool used book sale.  I found a huge package of USA Geography books.  It was such a good deal, I couldn’t pass it up.  I am finally using it and I love it!

The main book is Simply Stated by Katie Campbell. They suggested using the United States Cookbook by Dan D’Amico, which was included in the package. 🙂

school

This curriculum goes over one state, per week. Very simple and takes only 15 minutes to do each day. Each week the girls (grades 3 and 4) stick the state on their USA Sticker book.

USA Map

Each week the state is added to their spelling. Every day I ask, what is the spelling, what is the capital, where is it located. This makes it easy for them. On Fridays we have scheduled a cooking day to prepare the recipe in the United States Cookbook. This past Friday we made Wisconsin Cheddar Dill Puffs.

Photobucket

Let’s just say, we will have to look elsewhere for a Wisconsin recipe. These were horrible. 😀

For some reason, I always have to add to the curriculum. This time when I saw the Passports at Art Projects for Children, I knew this was what I wanted to add to the study.

school

For these passports, I copied the sleeve on hard stock. Then I copied extra pages for the states. I know we don’t need a passport for the states, but the girls sure get a kick out of it! I still need to take their passport photos. lol

Here is the inside of the passports.

school

The other thing I added to this study was a States notebook.

My United States of America Cover Page

State Worksheet

For the flag, I found a site that had all the states flags and printed it, to fit in the small flag area.

My girls have liked this so much, they are asking about it everyday and look forward to having the one “bonus” spelling word on their list. 🙂  I hope you enjoy it too.

Added Info:  Awesome America I am using this sight for pictures and information. They have the shape of each state and a photo within it, that is really lovely.

9 responses to “USA Geography

  1. That sounds like a fun way to study geography. Painless too! Have fun this year!

  2. Its just lovely when our children are onboard & excited! Have fun traveling!

  3. That is wonderful that the girls like the unit study so much:)
    The sticker map looks fun.

  4. I need to get those two Arkansas postcards to you soon! lol They are still sitting here on my desk. I like what you are doing here with your girls’ geography course. =)

  5. You’ve done a great job putting this together and I’m glad the girls are enjoying it so much.

  6. That looks like fun! I’ve been thinking about doing an intensive geography course with my Goobs this year.

  7. Thanks for sharing the great ideas!

  8. why were they terrible?? Maybe all the recipes are terrible. I will send you some yummy apple recipes.

    • They just didnt’ taste right. Too much dill, texture was funny to us, and we just thought they were terrible. We have lots of yummy apple recipes, but I wouldn’t mind more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

