Twisted Kitchen

Tuesday Twister Day!

Come on, let’s twist again,
Like we did last Tuesday.
Yeah, let’s twist again,
Like we did last week.
Do you remember when,
Things were really cookin’?
Yeah, let’s twist again,
Twistin’ Tuesday is here.

Since school is back in session, I haven’t had much time to try something new. Still need to work on the snacks around here.

I did find Orville Redenbacher’s Naturals. It has no artificial colors, flavors, preservatives, and 0g trans fats. Normally we would air pop or popcorn, but the kernels do not pop well enough for Sir Son to eat with his braces. The Orville he can and he says they taste a lot better without the salt. I wait for these to go on sale buy one, get one free.

Two weeks ago was our first day of co-op. It gave me a change to use my new lunch box. A stainless steel tiffin! It has two trays and two small containers. It is just the right size for me and I also have another smaller one that is four trays high. I bought it to pack snack for the girls and I when we go out. One tray for each of us. 🙂

In this lunch I packed a green salad, with walnuts, and a vinegrated dressing. Sides are seedless grapes and a whole wheat roll. yum…yum.

Lunch

Some other things I did in the kitchen, but not photoed:
London broil with a red wine sauce, baked Yukon gold potatoes, and steamed fresh broccoli.
Tacos made with homemade seasoning, served with organic corn chips.
Fruit smoothies.
Grilled chicken, brown rice, and some veggie I can’t remember. lol
Whole Wheat Waffles.

Hopefully this week, I can get back into the kitchen.

5 responses to “Twisted Kitchen

  1. I like the lunch box. Do the two pieces stack?

  2. Love the lunch tin! And so kids with braces CAN have popcorn, as long as all the kernels pop? My Haniya will be thrilled. She’s missed out on several popcorn nights. Any other tips for kids with braces? Thanks for sharing your twisting in the Twister, Michelle! Love, Wardeh

    • My son says he is able to eat the popcorn. The ortho. did say he can have popcorn, but he has to pick out he kernals, which is the hard part. These are expensive, so I stock up when they go on sale. I have no other advice. 🙂

  3. After reading your blog for almost 2 years, the reason you homeschool, I think, is because you like doing all the experiments, and the field trips, and the packed lunches. the organizing, and the visits to the zoo, and the farm, and………LOL

Leave a Reply

