Mmm Pizza

Ask my kids what they want for dinner and they say PIZZA!   I just can’t fix pizza every night, so I mostly ignore their request.  Sometimes I give in, though.  It is usually family night when we do have pizza.

With this recipe, I can make three 13 inch pizzas.  One has cheese only, only has cheese and pepperoni, and one has lot of different toppings.

Pre-heat oven to 450.  I place my cast iron pizza pan and my stone pizza pan in the oven, while it is heating up.

  • 3 cups of warm water
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 3 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • garlic powder (I don’t measure, just shake some in)
  • Italian seasoning (I don’t measure, just shake some in)
  • 6 – 8 cups of whole wheat   (I rarely get to 8 cups)
  • 3 tsp yeast
  • 4 TB gluten (if you have it)

Add water, honey, oil in mixer.  Add in seasonings, wheat, yeast, and gluten.  Mix together for about 8 minutes. 

Divide dough into thirds and roll each one out to about 12 to 13 inches. 

 pizza dough

Place on hot pizza pans, poke holes in the crust with a fork, and bake for 5 to 7 minutes, until slightly brown in spots. The holes keep the crust from huge air pockets in it.

cooked pizza dough

After baking the crust, top with a pizza sauce.  I have tried many sauce recipes, but have not found one our family likes. So… I purchase this brand. It is all natural and no preservatives. This can covers two large pizzas for us.

pizza sauce

After all the toppings are on the pre-baked crust, place it back in the oven for another 5 to 10 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the toppings are done the way you like them.

Mmmm good….

finished pizza

Our best pizza is always baked on the cast iron pizza pan.  It’s what’s best for Family Night at our home.

8 responses to “Mmm Pizza

  1. That looks like too much work. I just call Papa Murphy’s.

  2. That looks really good!

  3. I have at times used my flat castiron skillets to make individual pizzas for my family. For larger ones we use my PC stones and make at least one 13″ and one 15″ for the 4 of us. Both kids will eat half a pepperoni pizza and then hubby and I share the other one – we especially like taco pizza!!

  4. My mouth is watering….

  5. I like your pan. I’m using a stone, but it isn’t quite big enough!

    I could eat pizza every. single. night. I think you should send your kids up to me.

Leave a Reply

