Using a Dutch Oven

For some unknown reason I have decided it was time that I had an  Outdoor Dutch Oven.    I have wanted one for a long time, but now I REALLY want one.

It is on my Christmas list for this year, along with several bags of charcoal.  In order to convince Sir Husband that I need a Dutch Oven with legs, I decided I should start cooking in the flat bottom Dutch Oven I already have. 

After drooling over all the recipes in the book the Outdoor Dutch Oven Cookbook by Sheila Mills….I found a recipe.     I bought this recipe because on the back it says, “Sheila Mills has served as head chef and co-owner of Rocky Mountain River Tours for 30 years.”   People, this woman cooks in these pots on the trail!   I figured if she actually cooks in these on the trail and people continue to return, then the recipes have to be good.  You can check out her blog at Rocky Mountain River Tours   and check out her own review of the book here.  

Let’s see what I made!

Dutch oven

Ooooo it is the Chicken Enchiladas.  (recipe below)

inside

It was a little runny, so I need to either bake it longer or reduce some of the liquid.  It was yummy, though. 🙂

Wonder what I will make next in this pot?   Sticky Chicken, Mushroom-stuffed Chicken Breasts with Artichokes, or Especial Del Rio De Humbre Porbre (whatever that is).   Or how about something Gingerbread Corn Cakes, or Blueberry Cinnamon Brown Betty!?     The possibilities are endless.    Now you know why I need an Outdoor Dutch Oven.

Chicken Enchiladas

  • 2 lb  cubed chicken
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 bunch scallions, diced
  • 1 small can diced green chilies, drained
  • 1 can (10 oz) pitted black olives, drained and chopped
  • 2 TB cumin
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 8 flour tortillas (or whole wheat tortillas)
  • 2 cups grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 8-oz can tomato sauce

Brown chicken in oil in Dutch oven.  Add scallions, and continue cooking until scallions are tender.  Add chilies, olives, cumin, and salt; mix well.  Fold in sour cream.

cover the bottom of Dutch oven with tortillas.  Put in one-third of chicken mixture, one-third of the cheese, and one-third of tomato sauce.  Repeat this twice to make three layers.  cover the last layer with tortillas and sprinkle with cheese.

Bake in Dutch oven 40 to 45 minutes, or in 350 degree conventional oven for 45 to 50 minutes.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Serves: 6 to 8

10 responses to “Using a Dutch Oven

  1. Wouldn’t it be easier using your regular dutch oven on the stovetop? Why would you want a dutch oven with legs?? Are you planning on cooking for us on the trail as we walk across the country?

    • “Wouldn’t it be easier using your regular dutch oven on the stovetop? ” Yes

      “Why would you want a dutch oven with legs?” Because Iwant to learn to cook outside with coals. 😀

      “Are you planning on cooking for us on the trail as we walk across the country?” That’s a great idea! Except we might get to the Golden Gate Bridge before I get the oven.

  2. I’m sure you’ll at least get some coal. 😈

    MAN! CC missed out on this opportunity. buah hah hah

  3. I love my cast iron dutch oven. It makes the best pot roast! I’ve never used it for anything else, though, so The Man has never been willing to buy me one with feet for camping. It’s okay, though, because we’ve only gone camping twice since leaving Alaska. Camping just isn’t as exciting when you don’t have to worry about bears coming to eat you while you sleep.

  4. at the Lost Lake Lodge this weekend, I used my dutch oven (without legs) to bake a ham on the stovetop of our wood stove. The electricity went out. And we ate by candlelight!

    Then the next night I made meatloaf in the dutch oven in the regular oven. (Electricity back on) It was so good, now I want one for home.

  5. i’ve made drop biscuits in mine, I crumpled foil for the botton of the D O and dropped the dough, covered and they baked. They didn’t brown tho, but since we served them with sausage gravey, didn’t really matter. all on the wood stove because the electricity was out that weekend too. and last weekend I did a cross-rib pot roast all on the wood stove and the electricity was on.

Leave a Reply

