Chocolate Mint Yummy Cookies

You can smell the mint when these are baking. Mmmmm…..

Original Recipe from Breadbeckers Holiday Recipes 2007

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Cream together:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup Sucanat (I used half brown sugar and half white sugar)
  • 1 tsp mint flavoring

Add and stir well:

  • 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (I used 1/2 fresh ground whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached all-purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Add in gently:

1 – 2 cups of mint chocolate chips  (I used two cups of  Andes Mint Chips, minus a spoonful that my son stole from the bag)

The recipe says to drop by medium spoon onto a well greased stone and bake for 9 to 11 minutes.   The dough was too soft I thought, so I shaped them into round balls and baked them like that.  They took much longer to bake and it didn’t seem like I got a lot of cookies that way.  Don’t ask how many, because I forgot to count them and the recipe doesn’t say.  Next time I may follow the recipe and drop by spoonful.  LOL

I baked the lovely things on my Lodge cast iron pizza pan.  I hadn’t used the pizza pan for cookies before, and not I don’t think I’ll go back to a cookie sheet.  The pan worked beautifully and the cookies turned out really, really good. Half of them were gone in a matter of minutes.  The other half I hid until I shared them with the kids on the street after caroling.

Note to self:  Have Sir Husband take you to the Lodge Mtg Outlet store in Pittsburg, TN so you can get two more cast iron pizza pans.  Better make it three and let Sir Husband have this one that he is using to blacken meat on.  Then keep the three new ones for yourself.  Yeah, good idea self. You ROCK!

 

2 responses to “Chocolate Mint Yummy Cookies

  1. Those cookies look wonderful!! I use a baller to do my drop cookies instead of spoons.

    I had no idea that Lodge made pizza pans! I use my PC pizza stones and baking pans to bake my cookies on and the only other pans I’ll use for cookies, if I have to, are my air bake ones.

    Next time you make these you should send me some so that we can see how they hold up traveling long distance, I promise to be completely honest and dispose fo the cookies for you!!

    PS. Love the purple background you have here 😉

  2. Yes, you rock! Cast iron cookie sheets – good way to build up some muscles, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

