Hamburger Buns

I made a batch of these last night.   The ones baked in the skillet turned out wonderfully.  The ones I made in glass pans were nice too, but I like the skillet ones better.  I made them in three sizes: small, medium, and large. 🙂

Hamburger Buns

Source:  Hearth and Home by Karey Swan

Place in mixer:

  • 3 cups warm water
  • 2 TB instant yeast
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup gluten
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour (freshly ground)

Mix together and add:

  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs,  (I only used two, because that is what I had)
  • Enough flour to make a good dough (I think I added two more cups of flour, maybe three.  I didn’t count)

Knead for 6 to 8 minutes.  Shape dough into balls and flatten slightly.  Place in a greased pan or baking dish.  To have the soft sides, place the buns next to each other, but not touching.  When they rise and bake, they’ll touch and the sides will be soft.

Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes. Mine took a few minutes longer.

The recipe says this makes 4 dozen buns.  I didn’t count, so I don’t know.  Like I said above, I made them in three sizes.

I’ll post the filling recipe on Monday.

Enjoy!

7 responses to “Hamburger Buns

  1. So, just so I’m clear on this…did you bake them in the oven in your skillet pan? And I love that this recipe uses no white sugar and whole wheat flour. I will definitely be trying this. Yay! Another use for my new cast iron pans!

    • I baked them in the skillet, in the oven. That skillet is 13″ wide. 🙂 All the breads I make do not have white sugar. Muffins and cupcakes are a different story. lol

  2. I am so excited to try these! I make fresh ground wheat bread all the time, and it is GREAT and makes excellent rolls, but they are just not the same as buns. THANK YOU!

    • You’re welcome and thank you for visiting my blog. These are heavier than buns bought in the store, just because it is whole wheat. I flatten mine down when I shape them, so they don’t rise so high. I had baseball sized buns once and they were too big to eat. lol

  3. They look great. What size ball for a medium size bun and how flat did you flatten?

    • Hmmm..Medium sized bun would be just a, round ball, little smaller than the palm of your hand. Then flatten it about half the size. Does that help? My girls are using the leftover buns for toast. lol

  4. They look delicious! I wish my mother would let me use her kitchen. LOL

Leave a Reply

