Dissected Frog Cake

Let us eat frog.

To celebrate the Biology class upcoming dissecting experiments, I decided to make this.

pieces parts

This is what I needed the fondant help for.  It was easier than I thought.  The frog did not come out as well as it did in my head, but it isn’t too bad for a beginner. 🙂

Some of you are probably thinking, “that is really disgusting”.  I want to remind you that I lost 1st place in disgusting blog photos after Melanie revealed her real kids.   Yep, you won’t complain about my photos again. 😀

Cindy suggested I use Rice Krispies instead of a cake mix and I am so glad she did.  It was easy to mold and I dyed it pink for an extra touch. 🙂

krispies

I let the krispie frog set for an hour or so and then put a thin layer of white store-bought icing, dyed pink.   Hmmm, this dead pink frog is reminding me of Chocolatechic.  Is this happening to anyone else?

When I had the time (LOL), I got out the Fondant to work with it.  I added extra green dye, to get a nice dark green frog.  For a while I thought I added too much and the frog would be black.   I know dead dried up frogs turn black (I know this because I took a picture of one), but juicy dissectable frogs are still green.  Yes, you needed to know that.

It all worked out and I had no problem transferring the fondant on top of the krispie frog.  The powdery white stuff is powdered sugar.

Powdered fondant

I gently mold the fondant around the krispies, pulling here, tucking here, gasping there, saying NO DON”T DO THAT in another area.  All in all, it turned out well.

Here I have taken a small amount of water on a brush, per Cindy’s instructions, and brushed over the fondant.  It got rid of the powder and gave it a nice shinny look.  I was pleased with it.   Don’t look too closely at the feet, ok? I’m not an artist.

washed

The frog needed to dry out some, so I left it for a couple of hours.  I went back to the fondant and started making pieces-parts.   I know it isn’t  to scale, it is what it is.    I have four very clean unused T-pins to place on the four corners of the skin that is cut open, but they are at the co-op.  I’ll have to add those later.

face

I think the kids will like it.

dead frog

Does anyone want a piece of this krispie frog?  I hear frogs taste just like chickens. 😛

Part one:  Learning to work with Fondant.

Part Three:  Eating the frog.

2011 Frog Cake

Idea came from here and here.

16 responses to “Dissected Frog Cake

  1. I’m so glad you thought of me.

    And I am shocked that you even had pink in your house.

  2. That’s a cool frog dessert Michelle. You’ll have to tell us their reactions.

  3. LOLOL

    That is AWESOME! I’m glad you didn’t make your frog a girl frog. I hate girl frogs.

  4. I would have never guessed in a million years what you were going to make with the green fondant. That is a really cool frog crispy thingy. I hope that your students appreciate your hard work.

  5. Wow, what do you mean you are not an artist? This is an imaginative creation! It’s so funny. I plan to show my kids, but I will tell them not to expect one from me! Frog jealousy may occur! LOL You did a great job, I hope you had fun!

  6. That is awesome!! The kids are going to love it.

  7. Applie…that is wonderful!!! I love it!!! I don’t think it’s gross at all…I think it is adorable.

  8. Eeeewww! That’s great! LOL! 😀

  9. That is a Fantastic Fondant Frog!

  10. LOL, that is amazing!
    You are so creative, Michelle!

  11. I am very impressed. 🙂
    You did a great job representing a dissection w/o the gore of a life/dead creature (which could have been expensive).

    I wouldn’t want to have to have the talk about difference of boy & girl frog either, that is something for their parents to discuss with them.

  12. Very Cute! You are so creative =)

  13. LOVE this idea. As a Mom of a super-sciencey kid who’s allergic to the chemicals they use to preserve actual specimens this is the COOLEST idea ever so we can do at least 1 together!

Leave a Reply

