Monkey Cookies

In my endless quest to find protein packed snacks for my son, I found Peanut butter Bites.

I made these the first time as the recipe states, except I substituted Sunbutter (Sunflower seed butter) for the peanut butter.  My son is allergic to peanuts and all tree nuts and all of God’s great outdoors.  I forced him to try one.  He hated it.

I now have given up on finding him the perfect protein filled snack.  He is sixteen years old.  He knows what he can and can not eat.  If he decides to go hungry when there is plenty of good healthy foods around him, then that is his choice.

Our household Motto:  Don’t like it, Don’t eat it,  Go Hungry, and Don’t complain.

My two youngest girls loved the Peanut Butter Bites and ate every last one of them.  I allow two at a time, twice a day.  Maybe three.   The second batch was made with all natural peanut butter and I added 3 TB of cocoa.  Yummy!  They stay in the refrigerator until the girls start begging for them.    Next batch will be made with almond butter, since it is my favorite.

This recipe is a combination of  Chocolate Poppers from Simple Foods For the Pack by Claudia Axcell  (Honestly, I don’t see how you can take these on the trail with you) and Peanut Butter Bites.

Monkey Cookies

  • 1/2 cup natural almond butter or natural peanut butter or natural sunbutter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed
  • 3 TB cocoa
  • 3 TB sucanant or honey
  • 2 TB chocolate chips ( I didn’t add these because, once the girls have the chips, they won’t eat the Monkey Cookies without them)

Combine almond butter and vanilla and mix well.  Add remaining ingredients, kneading well with a wooden spoon. Form into 1inch balls.

Store in refrigerator.

Sir Son has called these Monkey Cookies.  If anyone has watched Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, you’ll know why.  😉

My next healthy snack will be Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins.   The girls well eat these up in no time.  Sir Son may or may not like them.  He likes chocolate chips and he likes bananas; however, he is allergic to bananas unless they are cooked.  We think…   Maybe I’ll have him take a bite while I hold the Epi-pen.  I am a great mother, I like to be prepared.


5 responses to “Monkey Cookies

  1. Oh, those sound good too…I may try them later today. And I need to make more Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins as well.

    Sir Son sounds like a pain in the neck (well, at least when it comes to trying to feed him). I’m so grateful that we don’t have food allergies in our house. That does not sound fun! Good luck with the muffins and the son….keep that pen handy!

    • I am not complaining about his food allergies. There are lots of foods he can not eat, but there are lots of foods he can eat, but won’t. That’s the problem. 🙂

      I’m going to the store today, to get Bananas. I’ll make the muffins tomorrow morning, so I can soak the flour tonight. 😀 I am looking forward to trying the muffins.

  2. I have friends up here with children dealing w/food allergies. A couple of them have found that the best saving grace is cooking/baking from scratch so that they know exactly what is in the food the kids are eating.

    I am with Kristy in that I feel blessed that neither of my kids has any known allergies, I’m the only one who seems to have them in this family and my reactions are more inconvenient than life threatening.

    Applie, just what is ‘sucanant’?

    Those do sound good I must say though I think they would be better w/the chips but I can totally understand why you’re not making them w/them. =] Silly girls.

  3. yummy I love peanut butter those look so good 🙂 add some red liccorice legs and add 2 red hots for the eyes and you have a yummy nut spider : )
    I love how creative you are !!!!

Leave a Reply

