Sir Son is interested in German,

but we are making Spanish Cinnamon Muffins.   Sir Son being interested in German has nothing to do with Spanish and Spanish has nothing to do with this muffin recipe.  So, if you figure out a connection, just let me know.

The girls wanted muffins.  They wanted sugary muffins.  They wanted sugary, cinnamon muffins.  It took a while to find a recipe without apples, but I found one.  It is Spanish Cinnamon Muffins.

My sister gifted to me three small, very, very small, bottles of cinnamon from different places.   Can you see the size?  It says .7, .8, and 1 ounce.  .7, .8, and 1 Ounces!     My sister must not know the amount of cinnamon that is consumed in this household.

My favorite is the Vietnamese Cassia.  Which is the bottle with the smallest amount of cinnamon in it and probably cost the most.  Oh! it smells just like heaven will.  I just know it. Here take a sniff and smell for yourself.

My sister doesn’t know it  yet, but she has to give me a lifetime supply of this stuff.  Yes, it is that good.

The Vietnamese Cassia is what I used for the Spanish Cinnamon Muffins (recipe below).

Yes, the muffins are flat.  Most of the muffins I make are flat.  It is a curse from The Muffin Man.  I don’t know what I did to make him so mad.  I have never been able to make light, fluffy muffins, but I don’t care.  I have been making muffins this way for many years, so my girls don’t know the difference.  If you tell my girls this isn’t the proper way to make a muffin, I’ll send The Muffin Man after you.

When I make muffins, each of us has one with dinner and save the rest for lunch the next day.  I and the girls cannot stand smashed muffins, so I bought these screw on top, plastic containers from Rubber-maid.  They work great in lunch boxes.  Yes, two of my muffins can fit in one container, but if you make them right, only one will fit nicely in there.

Spanish Cinnamon Muffin Recipe. (I made a few changes)

2 cups of left-over red wine.
1 1/2 Cups Flour  (I used 1 cup white flour, and 1/2 cup whole wheat)
1 1/2 Tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp. Soda
1/4 Tsp. Salt
1 1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon
1/2 Cup Sugar
1 Egg
5 Tbsp. Butter, Melted
1 cup buttermilk
Pour 1 cup of wine in a Tupperware glass and consume while making the muffins. It is left-over, because Sir Husband used it in the beef stew dinner and “left” the bottle on the counter.

Sift together flour, baking powder, soda, salt, cinnamon and sugar.
In another bowl, whisk egg, melted butter and buttermilk.
Make a well in dry ingredients and quickly add liquids, blending lightly.
Spoon into greased muffin tins and bake until golden.
Bake at 400 degrees 20 minutes.
While the muffins are baking pour yourself another cup of red wine.

My question here is, where did the “Spanish” come from.  I just don’t get it.  This is a normal Cinnamon Muffin Recipe.  Was I suppose to use Spanish Cinnamon instead of Vietnamese Cassia?  Was I suppose to use Spanish  red wine?  Questions, questions…

If you are wondering if the girls liked this, I’ll tell you this, they ate two muffins with dinner and wanted a third.  I’m a mean Mama and told them no.
13 responses to “Sir Son is interested in German,

  1. It could be your humidity…and I’d add more baking powder.

    PS. I heart cinnamon too.

  2. I guess that I can’t make these since I don’t like wine. Bummer. They sound good too. Did you figure out how many calories are in each one using Calorie Counter??

    • Then use beer. lol

      “Did you figure out how many calories are in each one using Calorie Counter??”
      No, and I refuse to count the calories anymore. It is too much trouble to figure this all out, especially if we are cooking from scratch and we put in a little of this and a little of that in. I already told you, I quit.

  3. Your muffin secret is safe with me…..I don’t want a visit from The Muffin Man….yikes!

    We love Penzey’s Vietnamese cinnamon and yes, it is a bit pricey. Hubby sprinkles his cappuccino with it every morning.

    What is leftover wine, anyway? Isn’t all wine, a leftover from grape juice? Did you put the wine in the muffins?

  4. Looks yummy! I like the little containers too.

  5. Those look delicious. I will make them when I get a house and tell you if they are fluffy or not. 🙂

  6. lol. I know! You are supposed to listen to soothing Spanish guitar music while drinking the leftover wine, while mixing the batter. You are so lucky these turned out. lol

  7. Great job.

    I do concur w/CC about the lack of height in your muffins – not enough baking powder or too much humidity. I have that problem w/oatmeal cookies, well I used to until my mother told me that it was probably the weather that was effecting them.

    Difinitely play the Spanish music next time, if it doesn’t help the muffins rise it will at least give you a bit of exercise as you dance to the music while making the muffins =D

  8. I can’t imagine what these muffins taste like with wine in them… I guess I will have to try the recipe for myself… I have some Penzeys Vietnamese cinnamon too…

Leave a Reply

