Cinnamon Scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400F. Blend together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Cut in butter. Mix milk, egg and vanilla in another mixing bowl. Add to the flour mixture, and stir until just moist. Shape dough into an 8-inch round loaf. cut into 8 wedges and separate slightly. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
Makes 8 scones
Homemade Whip cream
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup powdered sugar
pinch of salt
Pour the heavy cream into a large metal bowl with crushed ice under the bowl.

Add  sugar and a tiny pinch of salt.

Whip with electric beater until stiff.

Let sit in refrigerator to cool.


7 responses to “Cinnamon Scones

  1. Oh, these look delicious! I know what we are making this weekend.

  2. That looks yummy. I bet they are delicious with tea.
    I made homemade whipped cream a while back and couldn’t believe how easy it was. I just threw those ingredients into the Kitchenaid mixer with the whip beater and about 5 minutes later I had whipped cream. I will never buy cool whip again.

  3. I made scones once. They were beautiful and smelled yummy. I left them cooling on a wire rack. When I came back they were gone. The ENTIRE batch. I’ll have to ask my big yellow dog if they were any good.

    I may be over the loss of the last batch enough to try these. They look YUMMY!

  4. White flour? White? No whole wheat? Next thing I know….you’ll be knitting socks.

    That is delicious looking, Yum! We ate Florida strawberries with lunch and they were a wonderful late winterish treat for us.

    • LOL

      I have a scone recipe for whole wheat, but I didn’t feel like grinding the wheat. Besides we all know sugary goodness isn’t the same with whole wheat.

      It was delicious.

      Yes, I am going to learn to knit socks. My fingers are already twitching and my eyes cry at the sight of a knitting needle.

Leave a Reply

