Tor-Tor-Tortillas!!

I have been making our tortillas for a few years now, but I find myself buying the store bought more than the homemade.

My family just does not like the whole wheat tortillas.  I don’t care that much for them either; however, they are really good for Garlic Beef Enchiladas.  You can’t tell they are whole wheat in that recipe.   The other reason my family doesn’t like them so well, is that they are kind of oily.   It is probably the recipe.  Oh well…

Last week I tried another recipe.

I shape and cook the tortillas the same as I always have.   Go here, if you want to see how I do that.

Semi-Whole Wheat Tortillas

2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 TB of olive oil
3/4 cups of water (add TB more if needed)

Mix together and knead for a few minutes until you have a soft dough. The dough should be slightly sticky. I use my DLX mixer. Place blobs on a cookie sheet and let rest for 10 minutes. Then roll out or use a press. Cook on each side for 1 minute.

These came out really good. They even look like store bought tortillas.

This is what I heat and serve the tortillas in. It is big enough for my larger sized tortillas and keeps them warm and soft.

Everyone except the Violinist ate the tortillas. She went hungry. The Peas decided to have some entertainment with their food, during dinner.

I’ll be making these again!  Yummy!

10 responses to “Tor-Tor-Tortillas!!

  1. I give up on making bread and all wheat products. I am a failure. I will continue purchasing my tortillas from the store.

  2. Is that like ch-ch-ch chia? Love the happy face tortillas at the end. Your peas crack me up!
    I’ll have to try this. I made tortillas once but they were too thick and took forever. You always inspire me. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. i need a press that works….

  4. I don’t own a press, and ours come out thick and soft..actually, unbelievably yummy! We have made some major converts with them. 😛

  5. Yep that must be my problem I don’t have a press either. Mine resembled a skinny flat bread:)

  6. I haven’t made my own tortillas in a couple of years though I have helped a good friend when we’ve been over there.

    I don’t have a press and have never used one I just roll them out w/a rolling pin. I make a whole wheat – white flour combo dough and my family loves them.

  7. Your kids are eating with style!

  8. I was hoping you would tell us what press you have?

Leave a Reply

