Module 13 Apologia Biology

I have to say up front that this was our worse dissecting experiment this year.  I have never dissected a perch before and the photos in the book did not match the innards of our perches.  I also forgot to look online for additional dissecting pictures.  I have learned my lesson and will better prepare myself for next year.

The other major problem we had, was some of the fish were very dry.  We were thankful to have some good specimens to look at.

This young lady had the biggest perch in the class.

I had to leave the room to get another tray.  As I was leaving I told the class to pet their fish and give it a name.  I came back and all the students were petting their fish.  LOL  They have now named all of their dissecting specimens.

We first examined the outside of the perch.

The Lateral Line senses vibrations in the water. For a perch the Lateral Line is used to warn them of possible predators.

The fins are spiked and used for defense.

These are the gills.  Used for respiration.  Each student cut one of the gills out and placed them in a bowl of water.  Most of the gills were so dry, they didn’t do anything.  One did fluff up a little.

You should have heard the squeals (of horror), when I told the students to pull a scale off and look at it under the magnifier.  lol    Scales have  rings in them and they show the growth of the fish.

As I said at the beginning, this was not our best dissecting experiment. The students were getting a little bored, so they started having their fish talk to them.

After the outside was throughly examined, we started cutting to the inside.  This is where I stopped taking pictures.  We had several problems and I had to keep jumping from one student to another, so I had no time to take pictures.

This experiment was the smelly and messy!   It took us a while to clean all the trays and tools.   A few students had to go out for some air or wash their hands.

Here is a great site for the perch.  It has pictures that you can use along with your fish.   Yellow Perch Dissection

There are excellent perch dissecting  links at Apologia’s website.   On page V of the textbook, you’ll find the link to extra information for each chapter.

Next, but in the same module, is the frog.  We had more success with the frog and more fun.  Stay tuned.

2011 – Perch Dissection

21 responses to “Module 13 Apologia Biology

  1. I can’t say that I am sad that you don’t have photos of the inside dissections. I can live with that.

  2. Where do you order your specimens from?
    And how far ahead do you order them?

    • Good questions!

      I shall answer this in tomorrows post. I was going to answer here, but it is getting long and I think it is a good question to answer as a blog post. 😀

      If you need this today, I’ll email it it you.

      • No, that’s fine. We’re not doing biology until this fall.

        But, how do I get my pic on here instead of the cute purple squiggly thing? lol
        Do I need to have a wordpress account/blog? I have one. Don’t use it tho. 🙂

  3. We enjoyed the perch dissection the least as well.

  4. The perch was definitely our least favorite dissection. Lame-O.

  5. Marty, I sent you an email on the pic thing.

  6. I’m so glad this wasn’t a scratch & sniff post.

  7. Hi! Well, this looks so fun. But I got my kids the froguts online curriculum, and they get to see all that stuff on a computer, instead of the real thing. Maybe it’s because we are a techie family. But they liked it, and I didn’t really want to bring the stinky ones home, with the toddler here. I like your blog. I will try to remember to read it more! Have a blessed day! And I liked the nature photos!

  8. I am just loving your blog!!! I teach many science classes for a co-op, most of them are apologia based classes.
    When I teach Biology, the perch fish is my most hated disection. Our specimens have been dry and hard. We broke several blades in the perch disection. Next time I plan to buy fresh fish from the fish market.

  9. I totally agree about fresh fish. Actually, if you can, live is tops and what I was accustomed to seeing. My step-dad was a avid fisher and knowing how interested I was, [I always watched the fish cleaning] when he had one with a beating heart, we’d watch it beat until it stopped. Kind of an odd memory, yes. lol

    • lol That is an odd memory. 😀

      So, any fish would do? There is a fish market near by, I wonder if I can make a deal with them.

      If I was to get one early and freeze it, then thaw it out, would that work?

  10. We did our Perch dissection last week. Glad to know we are not the only ones to have problems with the fish. I had four groups of two students each and every group broke at least one scaple blade. We were never able to wear away the skull bone to look at the brain.

    Next week on to the frog, found some helpful dissection instructions online and I’m going to make up a short questioneer for the students to answer about their frog.

  11. I have to say the perch dissection was the yuckiest…I did manage to saw off the top of one fish’s head and the results were ok. I though I was gonna lose part of a finger in the process. I think we may do a single fish next year and have the entire class see it just for the exposure. The scales and the smell were the worst part. We are doing frogs today and I am looking forward to that one.

Leave a Reply

