WOW!!

Lucky you!  You get to see three dissecting posts in a row.    That makes you happy, doesn’t it?

This was the experiment that the students were to find their own Frog Protocol.  It wasn’t easy.  I went to three different places and still had to ask help from web friends. 🙂  Since only two of the six students did what they were told, I jumped in and helped out the class.    I did not tell them how to write-up their labs.

For a good virtual dissecting of the frog go to Frog Dissection Lab.  It has great photos.

This was the day our co-op had orientation for families that might want to join us.  It just so happens, the visiting of the classrooms was during my class time.  WOOT!!   I had three of the nine visitors!  That was until we opened our frog bags, then two of the visitors walked out.  lol   The third visitor brought her son into the classroom.  She needed to leave to ask some questions, but her son stayed for the entire class.  That was cool with me. 🙂   You can see him below.  He is the young man in the brown shirt upper left.  He even helped out.

As always we start with looking at the outside.  Did you know that the size of the  tympanic membrane,  rounded ear drum located just posterior of the eye,  can help determine the gender of the frog?  If the membrane is small about the size of the eye, then it is female.  If  the membrane is larger, the frog is a male.  We tested this.

The frog you see above had a very large tympanic membrane.  All others had a small tympanic membrane.  When we opened the frogs, we did discover that five of the six were females and this one was a male.  Cool.

Both of the protocols the students brought in, said to start cutting the dorsal side first, then later examine the head and mouth. I stopped the girls from doing that.  Why, would anyone want to cut apart the frog and then look inside the mouth?  All parts would be falling out all over the place!  So, right or wrong, we started with the mouth.  The students really did a great job with the mouth part.

After throughly examining the mouth and taking it apart, it was time to start cutting.

Did you know that frogs do not have a neck?  Just like a football player.  Did I just say that?  Why, yes I did!


This was when we found out which were female.  Yep, three of the five females had eggs.  One was as bad as the one Melanie had.

Instead of pinning the side skins down, the students just cut it off.   Look how nice and neat all the parts are tucked in there!

Here is the dye-injected frog.  I am thinking of telling my future students to spend the extra bucks, for one of these babies.  If this isn’t the prettiest frog innards you’ve ever seen, then I don’t know what is.   See those yellow fingers on the right side?  Those are fat bodies.   The pretty dark blue things are the three lobes of the liver.  The big tube looking thing below the liver is the stomach.  Want to see what is inside it?  Sure you do!

And here it is.   Anyone want to guess what it was?

As always sketches were done.

After all parts were taken out and played with, our visitor and a student, decided they wanted to see the brain and asked if they could look for it.  I said, “SURE!”   They could not cut into the head, so they cut it off then sliced the top of the head in half,along with the brain.  We think we found the brain parts.  We were not sure what it was suppose to look like. lol   Unfortunately, by this time I was busy cleaning up and didn’t get a photo of it.

I will part with this last photo.  It is always good to be fully prepared when  dissecting.

11 responses to “WOW!!

  1. Amazing photos! I want to be in your class!

  2. Those are amazing photos of the inside of the frogs. Wow! I’m still trying to imagine myself cutting open the specimens with A at home. I’m just not sure if it’s happening. I may have to send him to your coop.

  3. Great pictures! I thought it quite hilarious (and noticed right away) that the girl with the PSD apparatus on her head was the one without simple gloves!
    My kids aren’t old enough for dissection yet, but I am really looking forward to conducting classes like these when the time comes. Thanks for the terrific posts!

  4. Brings back smelly memories of highschool. I was one of the visitors she is a neat teacher!

  5. =}
    We like the frog dissection the best of the four.
    Did you all figure out what kind of bug that is in the stomach? Is it a grasshopper?

  6. Dye-injected – how cool!

    I think the froggy ate a spider.

    Great photos, Applie!

  7. Very cool! We are a little behind you. We just dissected the worm. Not very inspiring. I can’t wait to get to the frog. I paid the extra for the dye injected. I have two frogs. One of each. When we get there I will take pictures so we can all see the difference. 🙂

  8. I am very impressed.

    If I were there I would be wearing gloves the entire time, no way would I touch one of those w/o glove!! Eeeeew…

    Your photos are great and I’m so glad that any smell there might have been couldn’t come over the net.

Leave a Reply

