Chainmail

Flexible armor made of joined metal links or scales.  It is the earliest form of metal armor worn by soldiers during the Middle Ages.

When Sir Son gets interested in a subject, he does his best to learn everything he possibly can about the subject. For the past couple of years, he has been interested in Medieval weapons.  His current passion is throwing knives and sword fighting.

The only thing missing now, is the chainmail.  At the beginning of the year he started looking at how chainmail was made.  He then asked for supplies and has been working  on this Haubergeon, a waist-length shirt, ever since.

He started out with a reel of 17 gauge, galvanized steel, wire cutters, and a screwdriver.  He takes the wire and wraps it around the screw driver for as many times as he wants.  This makes the right size rings for the chainmail.

He then slips the coil off the screw driver and cuts it all the way down.  This makes the individual rings.  I don’t have a picture of the coil, but here is one ring he is cutting.

Once all the rings have been cut, they need to be flattened.  Sir Son places each ring on the grip part of pliers and flattens each ring.

I wish I had a photo of him putting the rings together, but I don’t.  I am just thankful I have the ones I do.  It took a lot of begging to get him to let me take photos of the process.  I also had to agree not to take any pictures of his face.

The pattern  he is using is his own, but it is a lot like the 4 in 1 pattern.  It could be the same  pattern, I don’t know.  I do know he is making his rings very small, so when he is in a real medieval sword fight protecting a damsel in distress, he will be well protected.  🙂

I don’t know if he will ever finish this project, but I am proud of him for doing it.  He works on it every Tuesday morning during his free time at co-op and during the week some.   It takes a lot of work to make this.

Here is a close up shot.

I know one day he will be one lady’s Knight in Shining Armor.  🙂   Just like his dad.

10 responses to “Chainmail

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean about his not wanting his pic made. My almost-13yo is the same way. I have tons of my daughters, very few of him.

    Tell him I saw the first pic of the chain mail and at first thought that was what he was GOING to make, and that was something that was BOUGHT for him to pattern after.
    Very neat job — looks excellent!!!
    His damsels shall always feel safe. =)

  2. Very Cool! It’s kinda’ of like very slow guy crochet …maybe not LOL.
    That takes a lot of patience. So great to see him take an interest and stick to such a difficult project. Very nice work!

  3. Wow! Talk about dedication, it looks great! Has your family visited the Renaissance Fair? He would love it, I’d bet. I’m pretty excited to visit one here this summer myself 😉

  4. WOW!!! Thats very impressive!! Will be an awesome treasure when completed.

  5. That is FANTASTIC! What a great project!

    (I won’t call it guy crochet, but that sure cracked me up.)

  6. That is so AWESOME!! I am very impressed. He has some incredible patience.

  7. Nice work! My boys loved this post; seeing how the individual rings were made.

  8. I am impressed beyond words. Very cool.

  9. I’d be proud of him too Michelle. =) His work looks good!

Leave a Reply

