Summer Snack – Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

My neighbor has been giving us some really huge zucchini, so I have to look for recipes to use these things up.  We love having neighbors that give us fresh produce. 🙂

I found this recipe that calls for two cups of shredded zucchini and chocolate.  Has to be good!

While the girls were taking their evening shower, I made the muffins.  Before I could clean up, they came down stairs and saw the “evidence” in the mixing bowl.

“Mom, what is this…stuff?”

“Zucchini”

“Zucchini!  You put that in muffins! That is so gross!”

“You won’t know it is there.”

“It just isn’t right to put a cucumber in muffins.  Why can’t you make normal stuff again.”

“It’s a Zucchini, not a cucumber.”

“It just isn’t right to put a Zucchini in muffins!”

“You’ll try one anyway.”

“That is so GROSS!”

I began to have my doubts while watching them bake. They rose and spread over the top of the muffin tin. eekk…

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

Here is the recipe.  It made 12 large muffins and 9 mini-muffins.

Zucchini Chocolate Muffins

Source:  Sleep On It by

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour (I used half whole wheat)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I didn’t use)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • Nonstick cooking spray

1.  In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg.  Whisk until blended.  Add the eggs, oil, and vanilla and mix until well combined.

2.  Add the zucchini, walnuts, and chocolate chips and mix again.  Cover and Refrigerate overnight.   ( I didn’t do this.  I didn’t want to wait until morning.)

The Next Day

3.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 16 muffins cups or 32 mini-muffin cups.  Pour the batter into the cups, filling each about 2/3 full.  Bake mini-muffins for 12 minutes.  Bake standard muffins 20 to 22 minutes.

Now that you have read the recipe, I’ll continue with the conversation I had with my youngest Pea.

I gave each of them a mini-muffin and I walked out the door.   Pea #1 who doesn’t mind eating went all ga-ga over them.  I walk back into the kitchen and noticed the younger Pea eating a muffin.

“How is the muffin?”

“uh..”  and she shrugs her shoulders. The muffin is gone.  I know she liked it, but won’t admit to it.

The oldest daughter will eat them, because they are made of chocolate.  She knows there is zucchini in there, so she will complain every time she eats one.

Sir Husband said they are really good, as he stuffed one in his mouth on the way upstairs.

So, these are good.  I will not make them often, since they are not that healthy.

The photo of the three above, were the best looking muffins out of the bunch.  Here is what the rest looked like.

Chocolate Zucchini Muffin Splats

6 responses to “Summer Snack – Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

  1. LOL…those are really lovely! Perhaps you needed more olive oil sprayed on the pans?? They sound yummy though. I planted my own zucchini this year and can’t wait for it to come up.

  2. it they fell apart, it must mean they were very tender and not tough, who likes a tough muffin anyway. crumbs are good.

    ps chocolate is healthy, it comes from a bean and beans are vegetables!

  3. Well, I love zucchini cake, so these are probably wonderful.

  4. I’d eat ’em. 🙂

Leave a Reply

