A Dragonfly

landed on my son’s hands.  🙂

Blue Dragonfly

Dragonflies are very common this time of year.  You can see dozens of them flying about,  just over-head, in open fields.  We love them because they are beautiful creatures and they eat gnats, mayflies, flies, mosquitoes and other small flying insects.  In the larva stage they like to eat mosquito larva.

The larva stage of larger dragonflies can last several years, while in the adult dragonfly stage the lifespan is up to several months.

Damaged Wing

In flight the adult dragonfly can propel itself in six directions; upward, downward, forward, back, and side to side.  Their hind wings are broader than their fore-wings.  They can fly at a rapid speed to get away from prey and to catch a bite to eat.  Most flying insects cannot out fly a dragonfly.

10 responses to “A Dragonfly

  1. I love dragon flies. Cool pictures. Wish I could get pic that clear. My are either blurry or the sun washes them out.

  2. What I love most about dragonflies is how curious they are. If you go out when there is a group hanging around, like after mowing the lawn, they will come right up and fly in front of your face to look at you. At least that is what I guess they are doing. When we are in the pool the will hover right over who ever is floating calmly, sometimes coming in for a landing so they can float as well. It’s much cuter than the wasps landing on your foot or shoulder.

  3. Those are the most amazing photos of a dragonfly that I have ever seen! Great job. Who knew they were so beautiful??

  4. Thanks for sharing! Very cool….I had a fushia dragonfly land on the dogs leash the other day. Don’t remember ever seeing that color before. Also, saw a metallic blue, really skinny one with smaller black wings….looking forward to bio this year!! 🙂

  5. Awesome photos Michelle!! =)

  6. Dragonflies are one of the few bugs/insects that I do not mind and will do my best to not kill – nothing I can do if they run into my windshield on the highway though. I’ve never had one land on me though I’ve had them land close by. I didn’t know that they could fly so many different ways.

    Thanks for the lesson. 🙂

  7. How cool is that!? I love dragonflies. Your pictures are amazing.

Leave a Reply

