New Pet?

At the H.E.R.I. Homeschool Convention, I stopped by UNIVERSITY of FLORIDA ENTOMOLOGY and NEMATOLOGY DEPARTMENT. They have something I want to buy.

Back to the story.

This is a Giant African Millipede. It can get up to 11 inches long.  They are docile creatures.  Diet is fruits, vegetables, and decaying matter.  To protect themselves they coil up in a tight ball protecting their underside and legs.   They lack speed and the ability to bite or sting.  These are sweet, harmless creatures.

Giant African Millipede

Millipedes have between 36 and 400 legs.  They have anywhere from 11 to 100 segments, with each segment containing two pairs (four) legs.  Centipedes  have one pair of legs per segment.  Now you know the difference between millipedes and centipedes.

The body is mostly rounded.  The head is flat on the bottom and has pretty impressive mandibles, which you can’t see in this photo.  Isn’t it cute?

The Head

I arrived before the crowd of kids, so I was blessed to be able to hold one!

New pet? I wish.

This is not what I want to order from the company, but I wouldn’t mind having it. lol  The legs do not tickle, they feel more like Velcro on the arm.

14 responses to “New Pet?

  1. *Isn’t it cute?*

    Hmmm…I’m not sure how to answer that. Sort of, I guess. But on the other hand, it’s an extremely large, creepy, crawly gigantic bug!! I’m glad that you look so happy to be holding him though. Better you than me.

    (And our convention does not allow kids, which is kind of nice.)

  2. Uhhhhhh….mmmmm…I don’t know. I will have to think that one over.

    I must say…I admire your ability to hold it and smile at the same time! You are cool!

  3. I think it is kind of cool since it doesn’t bite or sting.

  4. Oh Applie — you worry me, girl. lol

  5. It is cute Michelle. It could be like a little garbage disposal for those people who eat fresh food and have peelings and parts to dispose of each day. =) Sort of like Wilma Flintstone and her garbage disposal. I suppose its poops could be fertilizer.

    Thanks for the information on the difference between millipedes and centipedes. I do not think that I knew that. =)

  6. Nope…don’t want it! Sorry! 🙂 You are very brave. I have a policy not to trust anything with that many legs!

  7. Yikes! I was wishing I was with you at HERI but I’m afraid you would want me to hold that…since it is from Africa and all LOL
    Oh my Applie you are so brave!

  8. YUCK!!!
    I am VERY impressed with you, an amazing, fearless woman, but Ewwww! YUCK!!!!

  9. Oh, my goodness! It looks like true love!

    I want one. Its little antennae are beyond cute.

Leave a Reply

