Got books?

Every year it is getting harder and harder to find good books for my two oldest to read.  They are several years above their grade level, which makes it hard to find appropriate books for their age.  So, every year I ask the same questions.

  1. What is on your reading list for your 11th grader who read War and Peace in 8th grade?     This year he will be reading a lot on economics, but I’d like to find him something enjoyable to read.   He loves G.A.Henty, but he has read them all or almost all of them.
  2. What is on your reading list for your 7th grader who reads at a 12th grade level?

I don’t care what genre it is, just give me something.  PLEASE!       I can say this, please do not list Warriors, Redwall, Narnia, or Lord of the Rings. 😀

If you list your books on your blog, please leave a link in the comments.  If you want to just list the books in the comments, please do so.  Just give me the list!

I thank you!

13 responses to “Got books?

  1. :blushing: I have failed at creating a love of reading in my children. It is like pulling teeth to get them to read anything. So I am of no help to you at all. No help at all.

  2. I found a helpful book at the library “Reading Lists for College Bound Students” I’ll post my reading list if I every finish it…So far we have Homer’s Odyssey and I’m debating about The Divine Comey-Dante, The Canterbury Tales, Ivanhoe and City of God.

    • Thanks Lisa. I requested the book from the library. I think he has already read Dante. I know he has read Odyssey, The Canterbury Tales, and Ivanhoe. I’ll have to ask about City of God.

  3. PS I don’t know if these are enjoyable or age appropriate.
    I’m reading through them pulling out vocab and so I can discuss them with her. I am choosing books to go with historical periods so bear that in mind =) I’m halfway through Odyssey and finding it enjoyable.

  4. Checkout Lamplighter Publishing.com
    They have great books that are classics, and from all kinds of subjects. All are reflecting Christian values, and sometimes how to live them! They have great descriptions of each book. Mark Hamby is the president, and he spoke at the Jax Homeschool convention this year. Very good speaker!

    • Thanks Autumn. I saw Mary Hamby a the H.E.R.I. convention too. I think I have seen him three times now. lol I looked at his books, but couldn’t by any. Thanks for the reminder. I am going to put them on the list. 🙂

  5. We have new student orientation next week. I’ll let you know what is on the 7th grade reading list.

  6. I’ve got a 9th grader and a 6th grader, but our situation is similar. 🙂 I’m not really sure what to recommend for fiction – JM is on a Stephen King trip at the moment and Anemone thinks Neil Gaiman hung the moon. Neither author is exactly scholastic (or especially age appropriate), though! Have you tried Connie Willis? She has written a few excellent historical/sci-fi books (Doomsday Book, To Say Nothing of the Dog) that my Goobs won’t touch with a ten foot pole just because I love them. LOL I just read The Once and Future King and enjoyed it immensely (I wouldn’t touch that with a ten foot pole when I was a kid because my mom loved it 😛 ); your 7th grader might like that if she hasn’t read it already. For history try Thomas Cahill.

    • Thanks! I already had The Once and Future King requested from the library. My kids won’t like Stephen King, especially the 7th grader. I use to read his books in high school. 🙂 I’ll check for the others.

  7. I am probably not the one to ask because I let my 10th grader read whatever he pretty much wants to read. Right now he is on a Sci Fi kick. I don’t think that is going away any time soon either. Has he read any of the Jeff Shaara novels? My husband likes those.

  8. My son also loves Henty and someone recommended the books by R.M. Ballantyne. They are available at Timberdoodle, but kind of pricey. They are in the public domain, so they can be found on Google Books, as well. We have not tried them yet, but it is easy enough to take a look at Google and see if they would be up his alley.
    I see someone mentioned the Shaara novels. I have wondered about those, too. Those come up fairly often at used book sales. Jeff Shaara’s father, Michael, wrote “Killer Angels” which I believe was the basis for the film “Gettysburg”.
    Good luck. I’ll be watching to see if there are more suggestions.
    Sarah

  9. We looked at Ballantyne a couple of years ago and found them to be too easy for my son to read. I don’t know if my daughter would like them, though. I am going to see if I can get “Killer Angels”. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

