Thursday

For our mini-vacation this year, we camped at Anastasia Park for two nights.  While Sir Husband was setting up camp, I looked up and saw this little gal.  She was hanging right above or tent. 🙂

I quietly took her photo and didn’t mention it to the girls.  Later that evening one of the girls noticed it and I thought, “Well, that’s the end of or camping trip.”  But I didn’t have to worry.  The girls took a good hard look and named it Thursday.  Why?  Because we arrived on Thursday.

As with most trips, I take the camera everywhere and that means to the bathrooms as well.  Good thing I did!  I found this lovely creature having dinner.

She was hanging about 2 feet off the ground, on the outside of the men’s bathroom.  Since she was preparing her dinner, she wasn’t going to move.  That gave me the opportunity to take some close-ups.  Sure wish I had a macro-lens.

As you can see, she was wrapping her dinner in a fine web.  Their food consists of small to medium-sized flying insects.  Insects!  That means spiders are our friends.  They get rid of the insects!

Classification of this beauty is:

Kingdom: Animalia, Phylum: Arthropoda, Class: Arachnida, Order: Araneae

While camping, we saw many more of these Golden Orb Weavers.  The girls named them all by the days of the week because, they are all cousins.  lol

The Golden Orb Weaver builds massive webs, which can get to over 3 feet wide.  These webs will have a gold shimmer in the sunlight.

The spider above is Friday.  You can see the details of her web.   And would you look at those legs!  Lovely, just lovely!

Here’s an interesting tid-bit.  This particular spider eat their mate. 😀

Here is another photo you might like. You can see the size difference between the female and the male.  He doesn’t look like much of a meal to me. lol

10 responses to “Thursday

  1. Beautiful, yet frightening, photos! I once told the “bug guy” not to kill the banana spider living outside our dining room window. He said that was a first! But we enjoyed watching it spin its web and catch insects…One day it was too greedy and ate a whole dragonfly. It fell dead onto the ground!

  2. Those are amazing photos. The red legs on that last photo are so cool. I enjoy seeing these photos on your blog. But in real life, I think that would be a different story. Where are the photos of the family camping???

  3. Very pretty photos. I am not a big spider person, you know, but I enjoy your pictures. If the spiders would learn to stay outside, I would be fine with them.

  4. Hmmm, I can see who is already doing Module 1 of Biology! =D
    (I actually understood that!)
    These are great photos. I’ll be letting my kids see this. =)

  5. Wow!!! We were just visiting family in New Mexico and our friends have these spiders in their backyard. The kids were throwing grasshoppers in it’s huge web to watch it.

    Also, I found your site because our co-op is doing the Biology from Apologia. I just forwarded your post to my daughter since she just learned about the classifications.

    Thanks!! I’ve enjoyed your site.

  6. That’s very cool! I love watching spiders wrap their prey. It’s so interesting. I enjoy your added science lessons, too. 🙂

  7. They are nice looking spiders. I’ve been looking for them in my garden, there is usually at least one big one, but I haven’t seen one yet.

  8. Wow! I’m not going to sleep at all well tonight. Amazing pictures, but I really, really, really don’t like spiders.

Leave a Reply

