Dangerous Sea Life


The flags that were flying the day we went to the beach were Red and Purple; Rip Tides and Dangerous Marine Life.

Here are the only “dangerous” life we saw.  Which is a good thing.

Cicada:  We see a lot of them here in Florida.  They are not harmful to humans; however, they can cause serious damage to crops.  They are very noisy creatures.    The cicadas live most of their live underground as  nymphs.  When it is time, they will dig out and molt into the flying creature you see in the photo below.  You can sometimes find their exoskeleton on tree trunks.  The exoskeleton make great shirt pins.  All you have to do is pull it gently off the tree and place it on your shirt.

Cicada

Yes, if I find an exoskeleton, I’ll put it on my shirt and wear it for a while.  It’s a fashion statement.

Ok, so the cicada is not a dangerous marine life, but this next one is.

I'm sure it is dead.

This is what we found early in the morning.  It must have just happened, because it didn’t smell too fishy.  😀    This is a small Lemon Shark.   They are very common.  Too bad the body was gone.    You can see what their teeth look like here.

I thought about bringing the shark head back to camp, but then decided it wasn’t a good idea.  😉

That is all of the dangerous marine life that we saw and I am ok with that.

7 responses to “Dangerous Sea Life

  1. “I’m sure it is dead.”
    haha! I love your posts. =)

  2. Love the shark head. Was it already on the lifeguard tower or did you put it there?

  3. Wow! It looks dangerous! Can’t believe someone left a shark head on a step! LOL

  4. Okay, but I think the question is HOW did the small shark lose his body… except maybe from a bigger shark? That would definitely be what I would call dangerous marine life! We used to swim and boogie board in Central Cal. with small sand sharks around, so I can relate but I still don’t like them.

  5. Hahahaha! I love going to the beach – you never know what you’ll find there. We found a 6 foot shark at Myrtle Beach. I don’t know what kind of shark it was.

Leave a Reply

