Eleven Years Ago Today…

Miss Joanna was born.

When we arrived at the hospital, they admitted us into a waiting room on the surgery floor .  Not one of the fours doctors I had been seening where at the hospital and couldn’t be found.  Since Joanna’s heart rate dropped a few times, the new docs. wouldn’t let me leave the floor to a birthing room.  We finally convinced them that this was our third baby and all had done the same thing and all came quickly.   So… when the shift change came, they wheeled me out of there and down the elevator.  Not the one for patients, it was the one for visitors because it was quicker.  They were afraid I would give birth before we got to the room.

She loves clothes!

I almost did. The new doc came in and said, “Do I have time to get my chair?”, the nurses, “NO!  Turn around and catch the baby!”  and he did.  Doctors always listen to your nurses.

The new doc kept apologizing for having to deliver my baby.  After all, I had never seen him before.  Apparently, it is a big deal for some women to know their doctors.  I didn’t care as long as it was a doctor.  I said to the worried doc, “Don’t worry about it.  This baby was going to come and it didn’t matter who was around.”    Never did find out where my doctors were.

She is a beautiful, funny girl.

Happy Birthday, Joanna.  I love you.

14 responses to “Eleven Years Ago Today…

  1. Happy Birthday!!!!!! Hope you have an awesome day!!!

  2. Happy Birthday, Joanna! =)

  3. Aww! I love your sweet birthday stories! Happy Birthday to Joanna!

  4. Happy Birthday to your sweet 11 year old. Mine will be 11 in Jan. Where oh where does the time go?

  5. Happy Birthday!!
    This is the birthday month for you, isn’t it?? Lots of celebrating going on down there. Congrats!

  6. What a cutie ! Happy Birthday Joanna!

  7. Happy Birthday Joanna!!! You are beautiful!!!

  8. Happy 11th Birthday Joanna! =)

  9. What memories!

    Happy birthday, Joanna. 🙂

  10. Happy birthday, pretty Joanna! Please look to your big brother for ways to torment your mother. She likes it.

  11. Happy Birthday to Joanna! I hope her day was very special!

Leave a Reply

