Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope everyone has a wonderful, thankful day.

Give Thanks to the Lord

 

This is what I make every.single. year.  Twice a year.  Thanksgiving and Christmas.    We’re in a runt, but we like it that way.

Bread: This varies.

Whole Wheat Bread is baking in the breadmachine.  It has hard red wheat, Italian seasoning, garlic, and chopped onions.  To be made into croutons tonight.

Total of Ten loaves of bread:

  • 2 cinnamon/raisin bread
  • 2 cinnamon bread
  • 6 plain

Plops  (Creamy Sweet Potatoes)

  • 1 large can of sweet potatoes  (this year I am using fresh ones)
  • 2 eggs. slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • Dash of salt
  • Large Marshmallows

In a large bowl, mash sweet potatoes.  Add eggs, orange juice, butter, sugar, vanilla, nutmeg, and salt.  Mix well.  Transfer to a greased 9″ baking dish.  Bake at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes.  Top with marshmallows; return to oven until they just begin to puff and melt; about 5 to 10 minutes.

Pies:

I don’t make my own pie crust.  It just doesn’t work with me.

Have a great one!

 

8 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. You know my dear, I am so thankful you are my friend.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. I am thankful for you!
    Your sweet potatoes sound like mine except I’ve never added orange juice…just more sugar. I’ll have to try it your way…next time though since I’ve already made my sweet potatoes for this year.
    Have a good one!

  3. YUMMMMM!!!!
    I don’t have a rut. I’d prefer a rut. Maybe I’ll come over to your rut and have some plops!!! 😀

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, Michelle! I hope you have a great day with your family.

Leave a Reply

