Kale Chips

I am trying to find something that is healthy and will take the place of chips and read that dehydrated Kale is a good chip to have.

Kale is a dark green leafy plant.  It is full of antioxidant and high in beta carotene, vitamin K, vitamin C, and some other good for the body stuff.  Even read that it has some anti-cancer properties.  In other words; it’s good for you.

I bought two batches of Kale.  One was curly and one was flat.

First thing to do is wash very well and spin dry or wipe dry.  Then grab the stem at the base and pull down on the leaves to remove them from the stem.   Tear leaves into bite size pieces.

Add 1/2 TB of olive oil.  Rub Kale with your hands until all leaves are coated with the oil.  Then sprinkle lightly with salt.  Place on dehydrator trays and dry for around 4 hours on 118 degrees.

I followed a recipe that called for 1 TB of oil, but found it to be way too much oil.  You can see the oil on the flat Kale below.  The leaves of this plant, were easily removed from the stem.

The leaves of the curly Kale, were more difficult to remove.  I added less oil to this batch, salted lightly, and some I added a spicy seasoning.

I thought they both would disappear during the drying, but the pieces stayed a good size.  Some of the dried pieces below mysteriously, on purpose, went missing.

Verdict:

  • Me:  Out of the two batches my favorite were the curly ones.  I really liked the spicy ones.
  • Son:  Those look nasty.
  • DD#1:  I’m not going to eat those!
  • DD#2:  I’ll take one bite.  (spits it out)
  • DD#3:  GROSS!
  • Husband:  “I’ve stepped in things better than that.”

I hope to make some of these for myself again, but right now Kale is too expensive.  I need to find another alternative to chips.  Next experiment:  Sweet Potato Chips.  🙂

15 responses to “Kale Chips

  1. hee hee, love your husband’s comment. =)

  2. LOL! It was worth the try! Hope the sweet potato chips are a hit!

  3. I was wondering how it went. Thanks for posting =) Oh well. I like to experiment too. In my house we say way it a do over or a don’t do over. 😉

  4. You have very smart children 🙂

  5. the husband’s comment sounds like my husband’s comment about curried lentils.

  6. Those look, um, interesting. You’ll just stick anything in that dehydrator of yours, won’t you??? LOL

  7. “I’ve stepped in better things than that” ?
    That is HILARIOUS!
    I think you can do the same thing with spinach leaves.
    The sweet potatoes should be better.

  8. Mmmm, those looked yummy – until you dried them! Is Kale something you can put into a salad? I think you’ll like sweet potatoe chips! I’m also gald to know I don’t have the only finiky, non-adventurous children around! Hey – pass the Kale chips, I’d like to try one! ;0)

  9. Now you have a snack just for you. =) I wonder if this would work with greens like collard or turnip? I’ll have to investigate.

  10. I love Kale Chips! YUM.

Leave a Reply

