An Ugly Sweater

Here is an ugly sweater I made in November.  I lost the button, so I had to order another one before uploading any pictures.

Made from Lion Brand Thick and Quick Yarn.  Yuck….  In dark forest green. Plain ole dark forest green.  Yuck…

I did like working this pattern.  It was quick and easy.  I just don’t like it.  It feels like I am wearing a heavy blanket.  I also look like a forest green whale while I have it on.  Who wants to look like that!?

The only thing I like about this sweater is the button.  It is made from a coconut shell and it does look good on the sweater.  It is dark brown on the underside and curved.  I bought the button at my BFFLYS (best friend forever local yarn shop), The Local Needle.

My MIL came over one day and liked the sweater.  I told she can have it as soon as I get the button.  She’ll get it this week.  🙂  She can wear or not, I don’t care.  She is thin and so does not look like a whale in it.  If she decides it should go to the dump, I want the button back.  lol

After finishing this sweater, I am not so keen on finishing another.  I do have one partially made and it is just sitting on the table.  Maybe I’ll get back to it or maybe not.  At least I am not using the same yarn.

 

13 responses to “An Ugly Sweater

  1. I think it is a lovely sweater….even though I can not wear forest green. The button is very cool and is perfect for the sweater. I think your MIL will love it and wear it proudly! 😉

  2. I think it is a lovely sweater too with just the perfect button. I hope that you MIL loves it and wears it proudly.

  3. I love it! I think it is pretty and I like forest green being a redhead and all =)

  4. That is a nice looking sweater. =) And the button is awesome too.

  5. If your MIL doesn’t wear it- send it me to me in cold NH. I wear forest green well, and with the price of heating oil these days, a wearable blanket is a great idea! And you can certainly keep the lovely the button for your next endeavor. :o)

  6. Me likes it too…you have great talents lady!! Why didn’t you make it in your favorite RED?! :O)

  7. I think the sweater looks wonderful on the hanger! I do understand about how things looks so nice on the hanger though. I really like the idea of a quick bulky sweater. I get so cold easily. But, I don’t want to look like a whale either. You are too funny. Make another one in your favorite color….maybe that will help. 🙂

  8. It’s very cute in the photos. Too bad it’s not flattering. You did a great job on it.
    I’m still chugging along slowly. I have mastered a few baby hats. Sweaters seem scary and hard.

  9. I like it. I would probably wear it as more of a jacket then a sweater, but I would wear it. The button is perfect for the sweater.

  10. I think you did a GREAT job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

