Have Your Frog and Eat it Too!

Next week my Biology class will dissect our first specimen.  The worm. To celebrate the much anticipated event, I made another dissected frog cake.

Once again, the body out of Rice Krispies, using red food coloring in the marshmallows.

It kind of gives an authentic look when slicing in to the body. The students are always surprised when they see the colored krispies and usually say ewww…..  lol

It was covered in fondant from head to toe.  All of the guts are made from fondant.  Please do not make fun of my lack of artistic abilities when it comes to making innards. 😀

As an extra bonus, I added the frog’s last meal request.  It’s a shame he wasn’t alive long enough to eat it.  One of my students decided to have the fly for a mid-morning snack.   I don’t think it was very filling.

The blue things you see in the photo below are the livers.

Please enjoy the slide show of the Biology students eating the frog.  Not one of them said it tastes like chicken.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next year I think I’ll do something completely different. 🙂

18 responses to “Have Your Frog and Eat it Too!

  1. I love it! I’m especially enamored of the fly, but I actually thought the first picture was the most gag-inducing. LOL

    • What!? You take pictures of your peeps eating a carcass made by the girl, from sugary goodness, and my sweet little blood covered marshmallows, makes you gag? Something is just not right with you.

      However; I do appreciate the nice comment. Gag-induced is what I was going for.

  2. You do a good job w/ fondant!
    Great-looking frog. If I made that, it would look like some weird alien-shaped green thing, lol.

  3. That is an incredible job once again. I’m with Melanie…there is something really disgusting about that first photo. It’s all slimy and bloody looking. I wasn’t sure what I was looking at at first. I love the fly! You are awesome!

  4. That’s awesome…I can always count on you for my “first thing in the morning chuckle”! Wish I was taking your class! 🙂

  5. I love the fly, too. And the eyeballs! He is very slimy and nasty looking, so great job!

  6. I have to agree with the others on that first picture. That one wounded marshmallow is gruesome.

  7. I love the cake! That was such a neat idea to make it out of Rice Krispie Treats. (I said “ewww” with the first picture too.) 🙂

  8. Very creative, the kind of biology class I would enjoy for sure!

  9. Yummy! LOL You did a great job on it though! We watch a lot of Cake Boss around here on Netflix, and it amazes me what you can do with that stuff! I can’t wait to see your actual dissection pics!

  10. Pingback: Dissected Frog Cake | APPLIE'S PLACE

  11. Pingback: A Friendly Krispie Frog | APPLIE'S PLACE

  12. Pingback: I’ve done it again. | APPLIE'S PLACE

  13. Oh, this is awesome! My husband thought I was the only gross one that’d do something like this! I purchase edible body shapes when Halloween goes on clearance. The kids get a kick out of it. 😉

    ~Honey

    • LOL I looked for edible body parts after Halloween this past year, but didn’t find it. I don’t care for the ones that have been mutilated, just normal edible body parts. LOL I made the dissected perch in the 2011/2012 school year. So fun.

Leave a Reply

