Summer’s Coming!

The girls have already started begging for summer time treats, sooo….

I washed up our popsicle molds

and started making our first big batch of smoothie goodness.    I purchased frozen strawberries, pineapple,  and peaches.  Fresh bananas and spinach (or whatever dark leafy green I have on hand).  We already had blueberries from a farm and figs from the neighbors.  Figs sweeten smoothies oh so nicely!

I had the girls gather everything and start loading the freezer bags.   We don’t measure or care what goes in each.  All are different.

The Violinist said, “Don’t just mix them up!  One time you make them really good, the next time you make them really weird.”     Hurumph…I never make anything weird.

Pea #2 does not like strawberries in her smoothies, but she will eat them frozen or fresh by the bushel full.  I can’t figure it out.    To make her happy, we left out the strawberries in one bag.

After they are stuffed.  They are placed in the freezer.  When the girls yell, “HEY MOM! Can we have a smoothie?”  I say, “NO!”.    LOL  Just Kidding.  Sort of.   I yell back, “SURE!  Grab a bag.”

I add Vanilla or Strawberry Yogurt or milk to the blender first, then add ground flax seed, then the frozen fruit, and sometimes honey.   Whirl it up!  I always end up making a huge batch, so the leftovers go into the popsicle molds for another day’s yummy goodness.

Want more Summer Time Snacks?

7 responses to “Summer’s Coming!

  1. Autumn Couture

    Two treats for the effort of just one! What a great idea…you’re right! You ARE brilliant! 😀
    I also like the idea of putting everything into bags before hand. Another huge help. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I like that idea to make up smoothie bags all at once. I do them on a day-by-day basis and it gets tiring. I may try your assembly line approach. We love having smoothies for breakfast.

  3. This is a great idea. I tried to do smoothies last year for my kids, but my son didn’t like them (maybe he suspected I was trying to sneak spinach into them?) This year, I have discovered Greek yogurt, so I might try again. I bought a ton of blackberries and blueberries on sale and froze them, but they are not sweet enough….smoothies might be just the thing.

  4. I like homemade popsicles. You have some cute molds there. My sister is the only one allowed to make smoothies according to my son. He doesn’t know that she puts all kinds of veggies in hers.

  5. I knew there was a reason I like to read your blog! 😉

    I need to get myself a GOOD blender so that I can make smoothies for my family, well me actually as they are more than capable of making their own. Can I come visit to get lessons in making them?

  6. OoO smoothies. I like the kind made of frozen super strong coffee cubes. =) I like fruity kinds too (a lot).

Leave a Reply

