Hairy Yellow-Marked Beetle

Yes, you need to know this.  Keep reading.

I posted this photo over at The Homeschool Lounge and gave the instructions to the group to tell me what it was and to classify it.  No one could answer, not that a lot of people cared.  lol

In one comment Debra said, ” Are you going to tell us what it is?  I can’t figure it out.  If I could figure out what it was, then I would look up the other stuff.  How do you know all this stuff anyway?”

I am going to answer that question here, just in case someone else was wondering about my awesomeness.

First step I get out my favorite all time insect book, which is the Florida’s Fabulous Insects.  I knew this was some kind of beetle, so I looked under beetle.  I couldn’t find anything that looked like this fellow.

Next step was to go on line to the Bug Guide.   I clicked on the beetles to the left and then sort through all the photos that are there.  It doesn’t take long to find it, but there wasn’t a lot of information on it, so I Googled the name Hairy Yellow-Marked Buprestid and got just a bit more information.

I believe this is:

Hairy Yellow-Marked Buprestid  (beetle)

  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum:  Arthropoda
  • Class:   Insecta
  • Order:  Coleoptera

Wood boring beetle, similar to the click beetle.  There are over 700 species Buprestidae.

That is how I identify insects.

Deb at Not Inadequate I have a post just for you coming up soon.  Look for it!  You’ll want to thank me for my awesomeness, afterwards.  I’m sure of it.

One response to “Hairy Yellow-Marked Beetle

  1. Oh jeez. I don’t know how I feel about that. What are you dissecting now?

    I should get some nature identifying books – bugs, plants, birds…have any favorites?

Leave a Reply

